X-Factor 250 review

X-Factor_250-674x1024

Before I talk about the issue itself, I should probably address Peter David’s condition. After xmenxpert told me that he was doing well after his holiday stroke, I visited his twitter page and blog. Apparently he’s already walking without the help of others  – that’s great news. Also, you should visit this page to learn how you can help him with his health-related expenses. As for X-Factor’s anniversary issue – it’s a great read.

X-Factor 250 kicks off the Hell on Earth War, a storyline Peter David has been teasing for years. There are a lot of references to his various X-Factor plot threads, yet at the same time this is an easy jumping on point that explains everything new readers need to know. It explains who Tier is, it explains who the demonic Jezebel is (which I didn’t previously know) and it explains several recent developments in the X-Factor cast. The ease for new readers to understand this comic screams of Peter David’s writing talents.

Even ignoring that, this is a very entertaining comic. It’s very chaotic, yet it’s never hard to follow. The action flows smoothly, and there’s plenty of humour to lighten the mood. Despite the severity of the situation, X-Factor 250 still keeps the lighthearted mood that the series does best. The art is also good; it’s simple, yet effective. No further comments on the art.

As good as Batman 16 is, this is my favourite comic of the week. It’s chaotic, fun and surprisingly easy for new readers to understand. Not to mention that buy buying X-Factor, you’re supporting an industry veteran who is currently recovering from a stroke. If you like the X-Men franchise or you want a big yet self-contained story that’s very entertaining, you should give this comic and this series a chance.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to X-Factor 250 review

  1. Pingback: Release Date Rundown – January 16, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    X-Factor has been my favourite series since I started reading it around the time Messiah Complex ended. It’s sharp, clever, smart, with deep characterization and complex plots. Often all within the span of 3 panels. Like Darwin pointing a gun at Tier, Tier realizing Darwin can’t pull the trigger and thinking there might be another way out, and then Darwin getting hit by a cab while Tier thinks, “Oh. OK, well that works, too.”

    I also noticed the billboards on the second page. A whole bunch of Easter eggs referencing the people making the book. And I have to wonder if the “Under the sea” ticker just might have been referencing David’s daughter, Ariel.

Leave a Reply

