Comic Review – Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic War 1, Wolverine and the X-Men 4

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

This is my new comic for the week. Every week I try a new series I’ve never touched before without researching it beforehand.

I used to be a Star Wars Fan. I was introduced to the series when my dad received the Special Edition on VHS and I immediately fell in love with the franchise. I still have the original trilogy almost completely memorized and yes, I prefer the original versions over the special edition. I’m not a fan of the franchise anymore, but I can still enjoy a good Star Wars story. That’s enough about my experience though, onto the comic.

This is both my first Star Wars comic and my first Knights of the Old Republic story. I thought it was a decent and promising start to this miniseries. It does a good job at explaining who the main character is; an exiled Jedi who is thrown into a war he doesn’t want to fight. He spends the issue trying to convince the general and a group of Jedi not to kill all the mandelorian civilians in a battle. Who are the mandelorians? Not completely sure, but Jango Fett was one of them just before they fell. The Jedi in this issue might not be the noblest Jedi in the order, but saying why might spoil the end of the issue.

Yeah, I don’t really have much to say about this issue. The art is solid, the pacing is good and it does a good job at explaining what you need to know without being intrusive. It’s a good comic and I recommend it to anyone who likes the sound of an ex-Jedi who is looked down onto, trying to stop corrupt generals and Jedi from eliminating civilians. I’m not sure if I’ll check out the rest of this series, but I liked it more than I thought I would.

Wolverine and the X-Men 4:

Another stellar issue for a series that has been surprisingly good so far. This issue introduces two new students to the school, Angel and Genesis. Angel is the original angel in body, but his mind no longer exists due to the events in Uncanny X-Force 18 (read it.) Genesis was introduced in the same issue, and he’s a clone of Apocalypse who was raised to be a hero.

Each previous issue focused primarily on one or two characters. The first focused mostly on Wolverine and Kitty Pride, the two headmasters of the new school, the second focused mostly on Iceman when he finally unleashes more of his true potential, and the third focused mostly on Quinton Quire, a very rebellious and extremely powerful telepathic student. This issue is more about the bigger picture; it’s about everyone. Half the issue takes place inside a Future History class with Deathlock Prime as a guest instructor. There’s a staff meeting, there’s Angel thinking he’s a real angel. There’s a lot going on, but it never feels like overload.

Like always, this issue is just light-hearted fun. There’s lots of humour, made even more awesome with the live class tweeting Marvel had yesterday – yes, Marvel made a Jean Grey Institute twitter account. Despite that, this issue still explores how venerable the mutants are and how important Wolverine’s new school is for the X-Men’s future. Genesis in particular will make or break the world. This issue manages to not only balance the fun and seriousness in this issue, but in the history class it successfully merges them. The artwork matches the books mood perfectly. It’s full of detail and creative lighting.

It would take too long to explain who Apocalypse is, so click on this link for more information. I highly recommend this issue and this series. It brings the X-Men back to its roots as a fun series that still manages to deal with serious issues. Jason Aaron has joined my shortlist for my favourite comic book writers, along with Rick Rememder, Marjorie Liu, Craig Kyle, Chris Yost and Scott Snider.  More on Chris Yost in today’s other review post.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

