All New X-Men 7 review

All-New-X-Men-7-Mystique

All New X-Men 7 is yet another great issue in Brian Michael Bendis’ X-Men run. As the cover suggests, Mystique is taking her shot at the original X-Men. The largest portion of this comic is an extended conversation between her and young Cyclops. It’s a great scene that highlights exactly how manipulative Mystique can be, while simultaneously exploring young Cyclops and how he’s reacting to his future.

The rest of the comic is also good. Kitty Pryde’s training scene is amusing, and there’s a wordless interaction between Cyclops and Jean Grey that works very well. Kitty Pryde’s characterization here is spot on, and Wolverine’s characterization is better than the first few issues in ANXM. My only real complaint is that young Ice Man is still little more than comic relief; he’s been stuck like that for the whole series so far.

The art is also good. Even with his eyes completely covered, Cyclops’ emotions are perfectly drawn. Mystique is well drawn as well; even in her multiple forms, she’s still recognizable. There’s rarely a panel without at least some sort of background work, and while there isn’t always a lot of detail, it’s still a very clean looking book.

All New X-Men is still getting better with each issue. While this one isn’t quite as enjoyable as the last few, it’s full of deep characterization and bits of story development that could lead to some very interesting directions in the near future. If you’re an X-men fan, or you’re curious about the franchise, this issue is definitely worth checking out.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All New X-Men 7 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – Febuary 6, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I like that Bendis trusted Marquez to carry so many scenes, without cluttering the moments with dialogue. Of course, then had the extended conversation between Scott and Mystique, and got a ton of dialogue in there. But it was very interesting and well-done. As for Iceman, Bobby was always like that. Seriously, I’ve read those comics, and he was always a petulant child. He still is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

