Avengers 5 review

Avengers-5-Smasher

The first three issues in Jonathan Hickman’s Avengers were decent, yet disappointing as there was next to no characterization for any of the Avengers. Last issue was much better, as it not only introduced the new Hyperion, but also had a number of subtle character moments with other characters in the book. This one is similar yet at the same time, it’s more epic in scale.

Avengers 5 introduces Smasher, the very first human member of the Shi’ar Imperial Guard. Her back story feels like a mesh of classic alien invasion movies and a silver age superhero origin, and it works very well. Izzy belongs to a farming family, yet she wants to be an astronomer. A piece of a Smasher’s armor somehow lands on her farm, and it turns her into a new smasher.

Her back story is intermixed with the Avengers fighting off an “invasion” within the Shi’ar Empire. It’s a great fight scene that not only expands on Smasher’s back story, but also gives us a few small character moments with Bruce Banner and Captain America. There doesn’t seem to be as much story development as the last issue, save for a cliff-hanger on the last page, but that almost works in this issue’s favour. The art is good too. It’s a simple look that handles facial expressions and environmental details very well, especially the scenes at Izzy’s home.

I can’t think of anything to complain about with this comic. It combines an epic fight in space with a touching backstory for a new character. It feels like an Avengers comic with touches of Marvel’s cosmic line, which perfectly matches Hickman’s usual epic stories. This is definitely worth reading if you’re an Avengers fan, or if you like Hickman’s writing.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Avengers 5 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – Febuary 6, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    Apparently, Dan Dare’s adventures are now canon in the Marvel Universe. Who knew. Anyway, this was good, but I’m hoping Hickman starts covering more characters per issue. It’d be nice to get development on more at a time, rather than just individually.

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      I agree with you that he should try to focus on more than one character per issue soon, but I personally feel that the single character focus works well for these introduction issues.

      Like

Leave a Reply

