Batman 17 review

2868772-prev_img_super

Death of the Family has been a rather brutal crossover. Each side series had Batman’s allies having their own struggle against the Joker, while Batman had an epic fight that spawned the police station, Arkham Asylum and several other locations around Gotham City. The joker had clearly been planning this night for a long time, and now we’ve finally reached the conclusion. So how did it turn out?

The real focus of this issue is the Joker himself, more so than any member of Batman’s family of vigilantes. His plan remains just as twisted as it has throughout DOTF, while simultaneously showing pieces of his prankster side. His antics lead to several big twists in this issue, and they play with the readers’ minds very well.

In some ways the conclusion feels slightly anti-climactic, yet oddly enough it’s still satisfying. It’s also slightly confusing, and you might have to read the ending over a few times to understand exactly what happened to the Joker and the Bat family. It’s dramatically effective when it hints at how each of Batman’s sidekicks feel emotionally drained, yet don’t want to admit it. There are further consequences, but I won’t spoil them.

The art in this issue is also very good. The environmental detail in the cave is impressive toward the end. There’s plenty of storytelling through character expressions, foreground and even backgrounds at times. You might have to look over the Joker’s final pages a few times to see exactly what happened, but that’s not necessarily a problem.

This is more of a question than a complaint, but how exactly can the Joker pronounce B’s, P’s and M’s without his lips functioning anymore? He seems to use all three of those letters a lot in this comic, and plenty more throughout the crossover, and yet the only thing he can properly close is his jaw. Just something that popped into my mind as I was writing this review.

It’s not a perfect conclusion, but Batman 17 does a great job with the Joker as a villain and as a character. This is an easy recommendation for fans of Batman, the Joker, or regular readers of any of the bat books that tied into this crossover.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Batman 17 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – February 13, 2013 | healed1337

Leave a Reply

