Release Day Rundown – February 20, 2013

The video seems to have trouble uploading today, but here’s the link for whenever it’s ready. These are my unscripted first impressions for the comics I bought this week. They include Nova 1, Savage Wolverine 2, Morbius: The Living Vampire 2, Indestructible Hulk 4, Thor: God of Thunder 5, Avengers 6, Captain Marvel 10, X-Factor 252, Action Comics 17 and Nightwing 17. I’ll add links to my full reviews as I post them.

Nova 1 review

Savage Wolverine 2 review

Morbius: The Living Vampire 2 review

Captain Marvel 10 review

In case you’d rather read my thoughts, here they are in two or less sentences.

Indestructible Hulk 4 was great, but I didn’t like it quite as much as the previous issues. While Bruce Banner’s characterization is still awesome, the story isn’t explained as well as in the last three issues. Seeing as how this has the first cliffhanger ending of the series, it’s possible that it will be explained in the next issue though. Still, this is an easy recommendation for Hulk fans.

Thor: God of Thunder 5 was epic. There isn’t as much story development in this issue as the last four, however we finally learn of the God Butcher’s motivations, and they make total sense. Definitely worth reading if you like Thor, or if you’re curious about him.

Avengers 6 was good, but not quite as good as the last two issues. It does a solid job at introducing Universe, or is it Captain Universe? This issue was somewhat vague on the character’s name, but it did a great job at introducing (Captain) Universe’s host, and it hints at Hickman’s New Avengers series.

X-Factor 252 was awesome. It’s an all-out war between the different guardians of various underworlds in the Marvel Universe, and X-Factor is caught right in the middle of it. It’s epic, it has plenty of good characterization, and it’s self-contained. Check it out.

Action Comics 17 was good, but somewhat confusing. Superman is battling a villain who can travel through time. There’s a great moment between Clark Kent and his earthly parents, and the backup story does an excellent job at expanding on that.

Nightwing 17 was great. Dick Grayson is dealing with the aftermath of the Joker’s destruction of his circus. He has several good scenes with other members of the Bat family, but perhaps this issue’s highlight is his conversation with Damien Wayne. Definitely worth reading if you like Nightwing, or want to read more about Batman’s extended family of vigilantes.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Release Day Rundown – February 20, 2013

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Nova #1 was actually pretty decent. Though I do wonder if part of it is that is just the low expectations I have of Jeph Loeb’s writing. Still, I thought it was good.

    Superior Spider-Man was good. Spider-Ock going to university is an interesting twist, but I kinda hope it’s temporary.

    Morbius was great. I’m really enjoying this series.

    Hulk was good, but I was really hoping to get more from his assistants. I do like the little town he’s got. Such a fun little touch.

    Thor was good. Definitely a series worth reading.

    Avengers was pretty good. I’m worried that the role Sam and Roberto had here – weird, short, totally superfluous scenes – will be all they really get used for. That’d be a shame, because they’re cool characters. Still, this was an interesting issue, and the conversation between Shang-Chi and Captain Universe was really well-written.

    Captain Marvel’s awesome. I really like Andrade’s art, but I do get that it’s not for everyone. As for the writing, it’s likewise great. Carol’s perfect. She’s scared, but hiding it with bravado. Deathbird showing up was cool, too. She was one of Carol’s first foes, and one of her most tenacious. I was one of those few readers who didn’t feel a need for Carol to be fighting supervillains, but I don’t mind it here. It’s done well. I love this series. I hope its sales increase enough to keep it going.

    X-Factor’s awesome. I love it. I always love X-Factor. But the current Hell On Earth War story is great. I love that Pluto just smacks them around with contemptuous ease. He’s a god – he should be that menacing.

    Like

  2. healed1337 says:

    Spider-Ock is going to University? Sounds like I’ll have to check it out when I can.

    And yeah, the Spider-Man/Sam and Roberto scene in Avengers felt pointless. Amusing, but pointless.

    It’s been a good comic week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

