Morbius: The Living Vampire 2 review

portrait_incredible

Morbius is easily the most unique series in Marvel Now so far. It doesn’t read like a normal Marvel book. It’s certainly not a superhero book. It’s about a man who has vampire-like symptoms that he accidentally inflicted on himself. It’s about an outlaw who is trying to keep a low profile, but simply cannot ignore the injustice around him. Morbius: The Living Vampire is dark, it’s character focused and this issue is fairly good.

We’re only two issues in and Michael Morbius’s environment has already been set up completely. He already has a decent set of supporting characters. It explores the doctor’s internal struggle against his bloodlust, and how he’s always trying to hold it in. There isn’t much to say about the story as this issue is much more about establishing the character and his surroundings, but this comic does an excellent job at that.

The art is good too; it showcases how savage Morbius can be when he unleashes himself. The environmental detail adds to the dark atmosphere surrounding the series. There’s also a female character that, while attractive, also looks realistic and doesn’t have form-fitting clothing. That doesn’t happen enough in comics, so props to artist Richard Elson for that.

The first issue showed potential, but it wasn’t all that special. This issue is much better overall, and it shows how unique this series can be (by Marvel’s standards at least). While I don’t think I’ll stick with this series for long (I’ll give it at least one more issue), it’s one that shouldn’t be overlooked. I hope that Morbius: The Living Vampire finds its audience. I recommend at least checking this series out.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morbius: The Living Vampire 2 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – February 20, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I’m very impressed by this series. It’ll be a shame when it gets cancelled in a year due to low sales, because it’s a great book, with very good writing and characterization. I definitely like that Becky is somewhat realistically attractive. And I love Morbius himself in this. He’s a great character. And this book is filling a bi of a niche. Horror books don’t really do well any more, but I’m hoping Morbius can succeed. Even though I know it won’t.

    Like

Leave a Reply

