Cable and X-Force 5 review

STK524689

In the last issue, Cable’s X-Force team was forced to kill a bunch of warehouse workers in order to stop a plague from spreading. Now they’re wanted as terrorists all around the world. This issue focuses primarily on the aftermath of the last issue’s events, and for the most part it’s very good. That said, I didn’t enjoy it as much on my second reading.

Despite what the cover suggests, this comic doesn’t focus all that much on Hope Summers; she gets a grand total of three pages. Cable has a lot of panel time, but no more than any other member of his X-Force team. The real highlight of this issue is the friendly rivalry between Forge and Dr. Nemesis as they blow off steam. Their interactions are amusing and perfectly fitting for their skills. The scenes with Colossus and Domino are also very good. They emphasise how the massacre affected him (he worked at the warehouse for a while, and actually got to know those that X-Force had to kill). Their first scene is very touching, although their later scenes might be a bit polarizing for Colossus fans.

In my first impressions video I praised the scene between Hope and Cable, and that might have been a mistake. While I still think it’s well written, it’s also way too short for its own good. There isn’t enough room for what is supposed to be an important conversation. It feels as if it ends before they truly start to argue. Hope also doesn’t seem as angry as she should be, yet she also doesn’t feel the least bit thankful that Cable kept her out of a mission that would hopelessly ruin her reputation. The scenes with Cable driving around on a motorcycle could have easily been removed to focus more time on their interaction, as they feel quite pointless and dull. That is with the exception of Cable’s new precognition.

The art is very good. Every character in this issue is wearing a different outfit than usual, and yet they’re all immediately recognizable. The environmental detail is also good. In one scene, there’s a wooden panel floor that almost looks like real wood. But perhaps the real art highlight is the facial expressions – there’s such a wide range of expressions here and they all help convey characters’ moods.

Besides the unfortunate miss-prioritizing of Cable’s scenes, this is a very good comic. The characterization is dead-on, and there’s a good mix of entertaining and emotional scenes. It’s a much needed break from the dark nature of the massacre storyline from the first four issues. If you’re interested in an outlaw team of mutants who are still trying to do the world good, this series is definitely worth checking out.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cable and X-Force 5 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – March 6, 2013 | healed1337

  2. thepuremood says:

    Interesting take. I’ve only read it the once, and I loved the scene between Hope and Cable. Maybe a second read will have me seeing it in a different light…great review!

    Like

  3. xmenxpert says:

    It had a giant robot fighting a giant scorpion. What more could you want?

    Anyway, this was definitely a good, fun, character-driven issue. I kinda liked Hope pointing out that, for her, normal is being constantly on the run from people trying to kill her. Good reminder of how weird her childhood was.

    Like

Leave a Reply

