Nova 2 review

Nova_2_Cover_02

The last issue was a pleasant surprise for someone who rarely likes Loeb’s writing. It was a little cliché sure, but it did a great job at introducing Sam (the new Nova). He’s a compelling character with plenty of potential as a young superhero.

This issue starts right where the last left off, with Sam in the hospital from a head injury. The first half of the comic has lots of fun with this, as everything could be interpreted as a hallucination by the reader if he/she prefers. This comic is amusing when it tries to be, and dramatic when it needs to be. It’s solid enough that being cliché doesn’t hold it back very much.

The art is very good. Almost every panel has some sort of lighting or reflection effect. Character expressions are great throughout, from Sam’s father’s regret in his holographic message to his mother’s concerned look as he’s discharged from the hospital earlier than expected. The backgrounds almost always have just as much detail as the characters in the foreground.

The only real complaint I have about this comic is that it’s a very short read. Most pages don’t have more than five panels, and most panels have fewer than ten words. It’s hard to justify the $4 price tag on such a short comic. This seems to be a common problem with Loeb’s recent work. If the writing were denser, then most of what was in this issue would have been in the first, and the plot would have started moving by now.

If you enjoy Marvel’s cosmic line or want to give it a chance, this is worth checking out. If you’re interested in Nova but don’t want to read through two introductory issues, wait until issue 3. Personally I didn’t enjoy it enough to justify the $4 price tag, so I won’t be picking up the next issue. I would have if it was $3 though.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nova 2 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – March 20, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    This is good. There’s still a bit of a cliche with the final message from his father, but other than that, it’s a good book. Loeb lets the art do a lot of the work, which is a wise choice. McGuinness does a good job showing how conflicted Sam feels about everything. Rocky came across as a bit of a psycho, trying to shoot Sam for calling him a raccoon. But it’s mostly good. Which is shocking, from Loeb. I guess this is cathartic for him, and doing his writing a lot of good. And I hope it’s good for him on a personal level, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

