Release Day Rundown – March 20, 2013

These are my unscripted first impressions for the comics I bought this week. The one’s I’ll be talking about include X-Termination 1, Nova 2, Cable and X-Force 6, Avengers 8, All-New X-Men 9, Captain Marvel 11, Action Comics 18 and Supergirl 18. I didn’t have much time to edit today as I’m working this evening, so this was a bit of a rush job. I’ll post full reviews as I post them on my blog.

X-Termination 1 review

Nova 2 review

Action Comics 18 review

Avengers 8 review

I also picked up Indestructible Hulk 5, X-Factor 253, Superior Spider-Man 6, New Avengers 4 and Captain America 5. I probably won’t get to read them until at least tomorrow, after my full reviews and my V-log for Gears of War: Judgement are done. I’ll update my blog post with written impressions for those comics whenever I have time.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Release Day Rundown – March 20, 2013

  1. xmenxpert says:

    X-Termination was meh. Can’t say I particularly care. Lapham’s writing was better than it usually is on AoA, but with Liu and Pak telling him what to do, I would hope it’s better. I’ll wait for part 2 before I really make any judgments on this crossover.

    Nova was good. Rocky was a little insane, and there’s still a bit of cliche present (the final message from his dad). But it’s good. Hopefully, this series is acting as a catharsis for Jeph Loeb, and hopefully that’ll help him to stop sucking.

    Cable and X-Force was really good. Boom-Boom! Yay! Boom-Boom’s awesome. So, so awesome. And she and Domino always had a really fun chemistry. Very good.

    Avengers was good, I guess. The fight felt out of place. I can understand the Hulk attacking, but I’m not sure why the others didn’t back off after that.

    ANXM was great. Love it. Such a great series.

    Captain Marvel was great. One of my favourite series at this point. Nice to know she’s starting to learn to adapt to her situation. Which reminds me: It’d be nice if the other books she appeared in would follow the new direction. Have her stop flying in Avengers.

    Hulk was good. But it still frustrates me that Waid has thrown out years of development to bring Hulk back to a mindless rage monster. He seems even less intelligent than ever. Also, the next issue needs to make some use of Banner’s assistants. You don’t introduce a supporting cast, and then immediately ignore them for two full issues.

    X-Factor was great. The Hell On Earth War is getting crazier by the moment. And the reveal about Monet in it is pretty sad.

    Spider-Man is great. Nice to know Anna will keep showing up. And that Spider-Ock actually seems genuinely attracted to her. I’m also liking the fact that people are starting to catch on that something’s changed about Spider-Man.

    New Avengers was good. It’s an insane book. But it’s not my style. Too cynical for me.

    Captain America was good. Remender’s got a solid grasp of the character. If only he had a better artist. I just do not like JRJR.

    Like

  2. thepuremood says:

    I dropped SUPERGIRL because of H’el on Earth as well. I loved that title so much, but boy, that crossover was not interesting! Glad to hear it’s improved…maybe it’s time to jump back in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

