Guardians of the Galaxy 1 review

GuardiansOfTheGalaxy1cov_02

With the Guardians of the Galaxy having been announced, it was only a matter of time before a comic series starring the same team would begin. Here we have the first issue, written by Brian Michael Bendis. As a reader completely new to the franchise, I have to say this was a great comic.

This issue mostly focuses on Peter Quill aka Star Lord. He’s the half-human son of a brutal galactic king, and leads the Guardians. His characterization is very good here. We learn his basic personality, history and general skill set without slowing the pacing down. Each member of the team gets their own moment to shine, and the banter between them is always amusing when it tries to be. The story itself is bare bones at this point, but the fact that it feels personal to Star Lord does help. This issue isn’t about the story; it’s about introducing the characters and throwing in a very entertaining fight scene.

The art is very good. Each character’s outfit has a nice, clean sci-fi look to them, yet there are little touches of battle wear and tear. Every indoor scene has good background work. The fight scene is full of laser lighting effects and ship debris floating though space.

I wasn’t all that thrilled about this series – reviewing the first two issues of every Marvel Now book has been exhausting at times and I’m ready for it to end so that I can re-balance my pull list. It didn’t’ help that Guardians 0.1 felt a bit cliché to me. This first issue was great though, and I’m now looking forward to issue 2. If you like the Guardians, or are curious about them thanks to the movie’s announcement, this is definitely worth reading.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guardians of the Galaxy 1 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of March 27, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    This was really good. Bendis has a good handle on their voices, and the premise is interesting. Even if he is making them less Guardians of the Galaxy than Guardians of the Earth.

    Like

  3. thepuremood says:

    I’m still not sure how I felt about this issue. I did enjoy it, but I found Bendis kind of stripped away everything unique about the franchise to make me like it. Then again, Marvel’s cosmic books have never really lit up the sales charts…so maybe that’s a good thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

