Wolverine 2 review

prv15977_cov

The first issue of Paul Cornell’s Wolverine was an interesting one. Some sort of science fiction gun was taking over its wielders’ minds and vaporizing people throughout the city. Somehow Wolverine’s involved and is trying to contain this fairly bizarre situation. It was a fun comic, just not what you’d expect from a Wolverine title.

This issue continues that storyline, while further exploring exactly what the gun is capable of and the type of control it has over its wielders. It’s also made clear that there’s a lot we don’t yet know about the situation, and that things could get crazier fast. Beyond that, there’s a strong focus on Wolverine and his fighting style. It’s nice to see Wolverine using his brain for once, when most comics portray him as a dumb brute.

The flow in this comic is a bit weird. Conversations tend to jump around; it feels random if you read through it too fast. It opens with a bizarre drug deal that isn’t mentioned again. Even ignoring that, this is kind of a difficult comic to review. There are things to like about it, but it doesn’t really feel like a Wolverine book.

This comic wasn’t nearly as enjoyable on my second reading. If you liked the first issue, check this out. If you’re a big Wolverine fan, at least read this and decide for yourself. If anything here sounds intriguing, read it before you buy it. Personally, I’m not going to read the next issue because I’m already reading too many books starring Wolverine.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wolverine 2 review

  1. Pingback: Comic releases of April 10, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I just can’t get into this series. I think this might’ve worked better as a second arc, with a more straight-forward first arc. I like Cornell and Davis, and they’re doing solid work here, but none of it seems to work right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

