Avengers: The Enemy Within 1 review

tumblr_mmkgmnQUDo1rtb3uoo1_1280

The crossover between Captain Marvel and Avengers Assemble (both written by Kelly Sue DeConnick) has been teased in Carol Danvers’ series for months now. Beyond her brain lesion, someone has been specifically targeting the Captain in what appears to be some sort of grudge match. This issue kicks off the 5-part crossover.

This issue focuses mostly on Captain Marvel as she searches for an old friend of hers, who is apparently missing. She interacts a lot with Spider Woman and Thor, and several minor characters from her solo series also make an appearance. This is a great way to ease new readers into what’s going on in her life, and it’s all tightly written. The banter between Carol and Spider Woman in the first half of this issue is hilarious, and their fight scene against … former wrestlers from the 90’s is entertaining. It’s a great start to the crossover, and everything you need to know is explain inside the comic itself.

The art is simple, yet it works. Carol’s facial expressions perfectly capture her current mindset. She looks worried when she’s wondering about her friend, she looks angry when appropriate, and there are times when she appears both angry and in pain. Other characters’ expressions are also very well done. The backgrounds are often fuzzy or one giant motion blur, but every scene is established in at least one panel, and there’s the occasional smart use of foreground.  While it’s nothing really special, the art is good enough to help carry the storytelling.

I haven’t yet decided which was the most entertaining comic I read this week, but this is easily among them. So far, it feels more like a Captain Marvel comic than an Avengers comic, but the ending makes it clear that the other Avengers Assemble cast members will be joining soon. Either way, this is an easy recommendation for Avengers fans and Carol Danvers fans alike.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avengers: The Enemy Within 1 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown May 15, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I love this. It’s so rare to see comic book characters written as human, but DeConnick brings a wonderful humanity to everyone in the book. Carol and Jessica are especially great. They really feel like close friends. They’re full of humour, compassion and anger. Jessica’s attempts to cheer Carol up are really nice, and given how messed up Jessica’s own life has traditionally been, I really love that she’s acting like a clown for Carol’s sake. That opening scene between them is just so good. And then Jessica mocks the Grapplers with an awesome burn.

    I’m really looking forward to this crossover.

    Like

Leave a Reply

