Journey Into Mystery 652 review

3058257-652

Kathryn Immonen’s Journey Into Mystery has been a pleasant surprise from the beginning. Her first issue was a little confusing, but was fun to read. Since then, everything’s been clearer and progressively more entertaining. And while the last issue was mostly about a young Asgardian girl, it still felt perfectly in place.

Of Immonen’s run so far, this issue has the least amount of action. Most of the issue is dedicated to building up a story regarding Gaea growing sick by some unknown means. It’s a situation the Asgardians are not familiar with, and what follows are a few amusing cameos from Thor’s supporting cast. The frequent jokes at Thor’s expense keep this mostly dramatic issue entertaining, as do Sif’s exploits in the garden and on the space station (it makes sense when you read the comic).

If there is anything to complain about, it’s that Beta Ray Bill (who is on the cover) doesn’t show up until the very end of the issue. That said, it promises a team up of some kind for JIM 653, and their quick conversation is great. The art is simple yet appealing – there’s nothing much to say on that front.

Every issue in Immonen’s run has been better than the last, and JIM 652 continues that trend. Immonen has been doing fascinating things with Lady Sif’s character. Add Beta Ray Bill’s return and you have the perfect recipe for a great comic. Besides, how can a comic opening with Sif gardening with a broadsword possibly be bad? In fact after my second reading, this may be my favourite comic of the week.

Now that the new titles from Marvel Now are pretty much done, save for next week’s adjectiveless X-Men, I’ll probably have to start reading more bad titles to make this blog more interesting – too many positive reviews lately.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Journey Into Mystery 652 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – May 22, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I love JiM. I liked the scene between Sif and Jane Foster. It was nice seeing that there’s no animosity between them. They did, after all, have their souls merged for a while. And I’m excited to see how the reunion with Bill goes.

    And if you need back books for your blog, I guess you’ll have to start picking up DC. They’ve clearly decided to corner the market on stupid and terrible comics, while Marvel’s focusing on comics that don’t suck.

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      Oh I know how to find them, its just that I’ve ignored bad books during Marvel Now, just in case there were a lot of bad ones. Thankfully, almost everything in Marvel Now has been good, even if not everything fits my personal taste.

      Like

Leave a Reply

