Age of Ultron 9 review

AGEULTRON2013009_cov

Here it is, the penultimate chapter in the Age of Ultron event. Unlike most penultimate chapters however, there’s very little action in this one. It’s mostly filled with a somewhat comedic conversation between several versions of Wolverine as they decide exactly what to do with Hank Pym in the past. It’s refreshing in that sense, and it gives this event a rather unique feel when compared to all of Marvel’s other events in recent years. The dialogue in this issue is pretty much perfect, and it shows Bendis’s increasing understanding of Wolverine’s character.

This issue doesn’t’ quite start off in the past however, we first see the aftermath of the explosion at the end of the last issue, in the middle of the Age of Morgana Le Fey. The artwork here is superb, showcasing how this timeline is even more of a mess than Ultron’s. Wolverine is clearly haunted by his mistake. The art is also good once Wolverine does travel to the past – it carries a classic feel to it with the simple colouring, yet the character detail feels modern. It’s a nice mix that suits this issue’s mood well.

The only problem with this comic is its front cover, which is a bit of a spoiler. Otherwise, this is a solid issue that is well worth reading for anyone who’s been enjoying Age of Ultron so far. It’s not necessarily great, but it’s a satisfying read. This could very well be Bendis’s best Avengers event by far, as long as the last issue turns out well. That’s really all there is to say about this one.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Age of Ultron 9 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – June 5, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    It’s a pretty OK issue. Some interesting ideas being raised, some cool discussions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

