Cable and X-Force 9 reveiw

CABLEXF2012009_DC11_LR_fa836

We haven’t seen Hope Summers for several issues in this series, so why not focus an entire issue on her? That’s what this issue is about, Cable’s daughter finally taking matters into her own hands and heading out to help Cable, whether he wants her help or not. This is a great character focused issue, and a nice little break from the usual craziness that Cable’s team is getting involved with.

There’s not all that much to spoil in this issue – the fun really is in how it plays out. The dialogue between Hope and the Uncanny Avengers has it all: simple character development, a quick heartwarming conversation between Hope and Rogue, and humour. Hope really is Cable’s daughter, and that’s never clearer than in Cable and X-Force 9. The art is also great here. It’s a nice, clean look with very good facial expressions and costume detail. The light effects are also great; shadows look realistic, as do glare effects.

As good as the character focus is, there are two possible complaints about this issue. First off, the use of Hope’s powers is different than it has been in the past. Hope borrows powers from a couple imprisoned mutants and uses them to her advantage, however she’s far away from them by the time she meets the Uncanny Avengers. In the past, she’s had to be near any mutant in order to borrow their powers. It’s possible that her mimicking have developed for the better since Avengers vs. X-Men, so I won’t complain about it. The other possible complaint is that Purple Girl is in prison. I don’t know much about her character, but as far as my research can tell she’s supposed to be a hero. If you know about this and why she would be in prison, please let me know.

As with Age of Ultron 9, there really isn’t all that much to say about this comic. The majority of it is one extended scene, and while it’s full of character development, not all that much happens in it. Still, if you’ve been enjoying this series so far, or you like Hope as a character, you should definitely pick this up.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cable and X-Force 9 reveiw

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – June 5, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    Purple Girl became a criminal in the previous volume of Alpha Flight. However, it seemed like she might’ve been under the control of the Master of the World. So I’m not sure if she decided to stay a criminal. What I’m wondering is why a Canadian criminal would be in an American prison. That seems silly.

    But yeah, it was a fun issue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

