X-Men 2 review

XMEN2013002-DC11-LR-71201

It’s been a long time coming, but Brian Wood’s adjectiveless X-Men series is at least for now, an all-female team. Many X-women arguably deserve their own series, so at least they have a team book together. Despite this it doesn’t feel like an all-female book; it feels like an X-Men book that happens to have a mostly female cast. The first issue wasn’t quite perfect, but it was close. This issue is also very good.

John Sublime returned in the last issue to ask the X-Men for help. He is a bacterial organism who (usually a villain) who can possess pretty much anyone on Earth, but somehow mutants are mostly immune to him. Somehow his twin sister, Arkea, has returned to earth and vows revenge on pretty much the entire planet. The first issue ended with Arkea possessing Karima aka. Omega Sentinel.

A lot happens in this issue as the X-men react to Arkea’s meddling with the Jean Grey School’s security systems. Arkea is shown to be a very serious threat, able to act faster than the combined X-Men team can react. It’s hard to go into detail without spoiling pretty much everything in this issue. The characterization is very good though.  It’s nice to see Kitty Pryde actually working her computer skills for once, only to show off her ninja skills two pages later. Jubilee feels like she’s matured since we’ve last seen her, and it feels natural. The last page also has a unique and kind of funny cliffhanger. Rather than something bad happening, the comic merely teases that something bad might happen when the next issue starts – brilliant.

The art is also very good. Both Psylocke and Jubilee look Asian, yet different. Rachel Grey’s hunter marks are more subtle than usual, and yet there still clearly visible. There’s a good use of backgrounds, whether it’s a bunch of computer displays or smoke in a heavily damaged room. The colouring is also good. When the entire building is in lockdown, everything is in red yet characters still have different shades of skin. If there is any complaint worth having it’s that there are a lot of panels where characters look tired, although that may be intentional.

Wood’s adjectiveless X-Men is shaping up very well. It’s a self-contained story with great characterization, an interesting villain and a surprising amount of humour. The last issue was the top selling comic of the month and this issue might just deserve the same.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to X-Men 2 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – June 26, 2013 | healed1337

  2. eightbitbrit says:

    I’m really enjoying this series so far. I agree, it feels just like the other X-Men books – minus the hairy chests 😉 The art is wonderful, the facial expressions add tons of depth Psylocke and Storm look tough/hard/serious, Jubilee looks punky and vulnerable, and Rogue & Rachel look rounder and younger, even when they’re handling business and kicking butt they still have their own personalities. Kitty Pryde looks like a messy haired spunky kid and talks like the internet! Adorbz! Also, I typically could care less about Kitty Pryde, so I enjoyed seeing a situation where she was really necessary. I hope this series catches on! Great Review!

    Like

  3. xmenxpert says:

    I’m loving this series. Jubilee gets some really nice moments at the end. Rachel is taking command quite a bit, which is nice. It shows how confident she’s become. (I am still waiting to see her interact with Jean, but that’d be best handled in ANXM, I think.) I love the emphasis on Kitty’s intelligence, and wouldn’t mind seeing a little more of her ninja skills. Rogue was a hardcore badass, though I wish it had said whose powers she’d borrowed to get the enhanced strength. Storm and Psylocke didn’t get to do much here, but I’m sure that’ll change. And the moments they do get have them written properly. Even Sublime’s being used in a very interesting way.

    I hope Karima’s freed from Arkea, and joins the team.

    Like

Leave a Reply

