Avengers Arena 12 review

AVENARENA2012012-DC11-LR-9b165

Issue 10 saw the death of Nico, and probably enraged more fans than any other issue in this series yet. It was also the weakest in the main series as it had several noticeable problems in the storytelling. Still, it did Nico’s character justice as she saved everyone else’s lives and held her own to the very end. And then she resurrects at the start of this issue with a rather insane power boost.

That wasn’t a spoiler – it was in the preview released six days ago. The rest of this comic is an issue-long fight scene between Super Nico and Apex’s technological slaves. It’s a brutal fight scene that showcases both characters well, and it’s complete with great art, great use of the health bars and some good commentary from Arcade himself. The promised plot twist at the end is also very intense, and there are already a lot of theories showing up on comicbookresources’s forums. I won’t mention any theories in this review though – that would spoil this issue, and I don’t like spoiling things in my reviews.

I’ve read a few complaints about how Nico’s staff works in this issue, but having little knowledge of the Runaways outside of Avengers Academy and Arena, I shouldn’t comment on it. However, the weakest part of the issue for me is Apex’s internal monologue. It feels a bit cliché as she wonders whether she’s the villain or not. It’s an interesting idea, but so much more could have been done with it. There’s no sense of guilt, repressed or not. Neither is there any sign of a lack of empathy – just a character who tells herself she’s the only one “playing by the rules”. I should also mention that this is the most misleading cover of the week – Hazmat doesn’t appear in this issue at all.

Just because Nico is alive again, this issue probably won’t win over any of Arena’s detractors. Still, this is a fairly solid issue in terms of writing quality. Despite the issue long fight scene, there’s still room for both character and story development. And of course, an ultimate battle between technology and magic. So if you’ve been enjoying AA so far, this is an easy recommendation. Also, the next issue is being written by Avengers Academy’s Christos Gage – that should be good.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avengers Arena 12 review

  1. Pingback: Release Day Rundown – July 10, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I love Christos Gage. I think it’s a crime that Marvel hasn’t given him any permanent work in Now!. Even that won’t get me to buy #13.

    As for this issue: Meh. Katy became less interesting as a character. We’ll see how the twist plays out, but no matter what, I’m going to consider the concept of the series to be offensive. My own guess is that the bodies in the workshop are going to be put together as robots to be thrown at the heroes near the end of the game as a sort of mini-boss battle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

