Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 24 review

tmnt24-pr-1

If Kevin Eastman, Bobby Curnow and Tom Waltz are trying to turn people like me into Ninja Turtles fans, they’re not doing a bad job with the City Fall storyline. The first issue was relentless in its action, pacing and character drama. The second issue was slower, but focused mainly on Leonardo’s brainwashing. This issue continues the storyline with some of this title’s most dramatic moments yet, not to mention a great fight scene and “can-dee.”

There aren’t any surprising twists in this issue for regular readers. The newly brainwashed Leonardo fights his brothers to their horror, and Shredder exposits on his open gang war. Where this issue truly shines is the different reactions the turtles have after they see what the foot clan has done to their blue-coloured brother. Each member of the family reacts in a way that’s true to themselves.

Despite the dark nature of the storyline, there’s still plenty of room for entertainment. Mikey’s scenes with the monsterous Slash are not only funny, but they actually add to the story. And there’s also Hob, who clearly enjoys being his usual slimy self. Casey’s scene in the hospital is also very good, and it manages to handle a lot within its two pages. It’s also worth saying that despite everything that’s going on in this issue, it’s written in a way that’s easy for newcomers to understand.

The art is also very good. There’s a strong focus on character expressions, and how Splinter and the turtles don’t even need words to express their turmoil after seeing Leonardo work for Shredder. Leonardo’s new outfit is different from his older one, while still making him recognizable. The fights are easy to follow.

Honestly, I can’t think of anything to complain about with this comic. This storyline has been so good so far that I almost feel guilty for once considering dropping this title. It’s a mature storyline that still remains entertaining. If you’re a Ninja Turtles fan, whether you usually read comics or not, you should be reading this series.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 24 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of July 31, 2013 | healed1337

Leave a Reply

