Avengers AI 2 review

AVENAI2013002-DC11-LR-7505c

The first Avengers AI issue was an enjoyable introduction to this new team. There wasn’t much story or depth to it, but it introduced the Avengers team comprised of AI units well enough. The captured Doombot was especially awesome. This issue was also fun, and it kicked off what looks like the first major storyline.

Dimitrios was the evolving AI virus that defeated Ultron in Age of Ultron, and has since grown to be a potential threat to the world in his own right. He’s taken control of an AI Iron Man suit and is declaring war on humanity. Meanwhile, the AI team fights a hacked sentinel that’s rampaging through Washington. As with the first issue, Doombot is the comedic highlight. The moment where he tells off a statue is simply brilliant. The hacked sentinel itself has a great moment toward the end of the comic, although it feels as though more time could have been spent on it.

The art is decent enough. It’s a fairly clean look, and it’s bright and colourful without feeling cartoonish. Environments are well established in each scene, even if there isn’t always a lot of detail in them.

There’s not much else to say about this comic really. It’s a straightforward read and while it’s entertaining, there aren’t any real surprises within. It’s not all that original either; the only notable difference between this and other human vs. AI stories is that the lead protagonists are also AI. Still, it was at least enjoyable enough to read if anything here sounds interesting to you. I’m not sure if I’ll be picking up issue 3 or not – that depends on how much else is on my pull list when it releases.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Avengers AI 2 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of August 7, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    Doombot is the best new character of 2013. I’m just going to get that out there. Beyond that, this is good. The plot looks like it’ll be interesting.

    Like

  3. I can’t wait to check it out myself! Thx for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

