Comics of August 7, 2013

It’s nice to have a light week every now and then, but it’s also a bit worrying. If I only have 6 comics on my pull list one week, it usually means a brutal week is coming up. Still, these are my first impressions for all the comics I picked up this week. Avengers AI 2, Cable and X-Force 12, All New X-Men 15, Superior Spider-Man 15, X-Factor 260 and Cyber Force 5. I’ll add links to full reviews as they’re posted.

Avengers AI 2 review

All New X-Men 15 review

X-Factor 260 review

Also, I finally saw Man of Steel a few days ago. I know it’s a bit late to share my thoughts but here I go anyway. I hated Man of Steel. Through the majority of the film I was sitting there, mad at the train wreck I was watching. It’s a joyless movie with paper thin characterization, a non-story and a “hero” that almost causes as much property destruction and death as the main villain. Pa Kent’s portrayal was an atrocity, as was his utterly pointless death scene. And don’t try to tell me that Metropolis was evacuated as they smashed through buildings and devastated the downtown area; you could see people running around the street as the final fight was raging on.

Anyway, on with my first impressions.

Cable and X-Force 12 was great. The issue is split between two different stories, one focusing on Domino and Colossus, and the other in the future with Hope Summers. The Domino/Colossus story is a weird action scene involving a demonic artifact, but the real focus is exploring their relationship. There’s some great character drama in what would otherwise be a standard action scene. The future half does a great job at expanding on CAXF’s overall story, and Femstryfe is properly revealed. It’s not a huge surprise, but she’s already a much more interesting character than the original Stryfe ever was. This is an easy recommendation for fans of any of the characters involved in this issue, or anyone interested in a book about an outlaw team of mutants.

Superior Spider-Man 15 was good, but will probably be a bit confusing for anyone who hasn’t been reading this series up till now. It touches on pretty much every plot thread in the entire series so far, and focuses quite a bit on several minor characters. For regular readers though, there is a lot to like about this issue.

Cyber Force 5 was confusing for someone who hasn’t read this series since May. Still, it was enjoyable at times, and you can’t go wrong with a free comic. I’ll have to re-read the first four issues before I touch this again, so there won’t be a full review on it.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of August 7, 2013

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Avengers AI was good. Doombot is hilarious. Hank is really cool. And the plot is good. Interesting to see it develop.

    Cable and X-Force was really good. Bunn took over scripting very smoothly. The last-page reveal was obvious – I think everyone saw it coming – but the story itself was well-done. And the talk between Domino and Colossus was interesting, even if I don’t entirely buy the chemistry between them.

    ANXM was great, though I hated how Teen Hank was drawn. The two moments between Jean and Rachel were amusing. I loved the “nope, not going to deal with this” look both had. Scott and Bobby picking up girls was entertaining. Some good stuff.

    Superior Spider-Man was cool. It certainly looks like Normal is the Green Goblin again, though the fact that they’re still obscuring his face makes me wonder if perhaps there’s a twist after all. Harry’s possible, I suppose.

    X-Factor was great. This was a pretty dark and tense issue, with Lorna sinking really low. There were some great jokes still, but mostly it was just tense.

    Like

Leave a Reply

