X-Factor 260 review

XFACT2005260-DC11-LR-284a2

In my first impressions, I stated that “It’s drunk Polaris vs. Quicksilver – that’s all you need to know.” While that’s partially true, there is actually a lot going on in this issue. It’s also the best comic I’ve read this week. In fact, I’d call it pretty much flawless.

Polaris has been through a lot lately, and not just in X-Factor. It wasn’t long ago when she found out that her first power manifestation killed her mother and acting father. She pretty much lead X-Factor as they fought legions of demons in the Hell on Earth War, and she spent a long time trapped in space shortly after her powers were returned to her. Oh yeah, and her powers were regained by becoming a horsemen of apocalypse – that alone is pretty rough. It’s a wonder she still has a shred of sanity left.

We finally see how she tries to deal with all of this in her downtime. This comic is equally entertaining, dark and tense. The dialogue is perfect – there’s enough repetition in Polaris’s lines so that you know she’s hammered without beating your head with it. Once Quicksilver comes in, they have an argument that goes nowhere, just as it should when one of them is both sloshed and very powerful. And then there’s the ending, hinting at a new series once Peter David’s ends.

The art is pretty much perfect as well. Lorna appears drunk, but sober enough to try to hide it. The looks on the cops’ faces when she magnetically moves their weapons are priceless, as is Quicksilver’s when she opens fire on him. While it’s generally a simple look, there are plenty of touches in detail such as the bumps in the beer glass. Despite the comic’s dark tone, the art manages to be appropriately bright and colourful.

X-Factor regulars have to pick this up. Polaris fans have to pick this up. Fans of fun comics in general should read this. There isn’t one moment that stands out – the entire comic is brilliant from start to finish. It’s been a good week for X-Men comics despite the small number.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to X-Factor 260 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of August 7, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    The tension was impressive. This is not a fun drinking story. It’s also not really an alcoholism story, or anything like that. She’s been through a lot, and she’s simply decided that the only way she can cope is to spend a day getting blind stinking drunk. Sometimes, some people just need to get too wasted to think.

    The confrontation with Quicksilver was great. I liked Quicksilver saying Wanda never tried to shoot him, and Polaris saying she only wiped out the mutant race. Great bit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

