Aphrodite IX 5 review

AIX005001-8bc9a

The last issue’s ending was quite the cliffhanger. The genetically enhanced humans were under attack from the cyborgs after three of their four leaders were assassinated. Aphrodite, a cyborg assassin from the past, managed to partially gain control over herself and stabbed the green spot on her cheek, somehow knocking herself out. That’s where this issue began. The first four issues were awesome, so let’s see if this one satisfies.

This issue was slightly disappointing, but still good. Aphrodite’s self-inflicted stab wound severed the connection to her cybernetic handler and she immediately regained some of her memories. Despite being hated and hunted by the genetic humans, she manages to inspire their last remaining leader to lead a counter attack. Aphrodite herself charges in, guns blazing. The battle seems to end far too quickly however, and the genetic humans don’t seem to do all that much.

The remainder of the issue finishes up the plotline while leading into the next story arc. It’s decent and throws in a few ideas for future storylines, but there isn’t all that much suspense yet. The character drama feels a bit rushed, but it still works. The real highlight of this issue is the artwork though. Every panel has a painted feel to it, and sometimes the character and environmental detail almost looks real. There’s a good use of blurry backgrounds that give a real sense of motion. This is easily the best looking book I picked up this week.

While this issue was disappointing, it’s still worth reading for anyone who’s read the first four issues. The concept of this series is simply awesome – a post-apocalyptic war between cyborgs and genetically enhanced humans, starring a character from the past with touches of both. If that sounds the least bit interesting, check this series out.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aphrodite IX 5 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of September 18, 2013 | healed1337

Leave a Reply

