Uncanny X-Men 12 review

3316884-12a

A fair amount has happened in Battle of the Atom so far. There was a new mutant attacking the streets, a sentinel fight, the arrival of future X-Men, two of the original five running away rather than being sent back in time, and a hunt that led to a quick fight before old and young Cyclops met up on Utopia. And that’s skipping all of the story details explaining why this is happening. This issue is a lot slower, and focuses mostly on what different characters think of the situation.

This was a fun issue. Each of the important characters has their say in whether they should send the original five X-Men back to their time period or not. Those who want them to stay are basing their thoughts purely on emotion, which feels true to life. It was neat to see Cyclops and Kitty Pryde having a similar mindset on this matter when they usually think differently. As much as this issue is mostly dialogue, it’s still focused on the plot and doesn’t feel slow or repetitive. Xavier’s grandson is still suspect, as is old Jean Grey. The ending teaser also promises a fight X-fans have been awaiting for a long time.

Unlike most of Marvel’s events, this isn’t a chaotic mess of battles and exposition with little characterization. That’s the greatest weakness of events such as “Fear Itself” and “Infinity.” This feels more like a battle of wits as different groups and characters try to outsmart each other. It’s not unlike a game of chess, but with dozens of players in the same game. That doesn’t mean this won’t get chaotic though, nor would that necessarily be a bad thing. The story could still go anywhere from here, and considering a teaser image of Quinton Quire showing phoenix powers released today, things are about to get hectic.

The art in this issue is also pretty good. I’m usually on the fence over Chris Bachalo’s art, but thanks to another person on colouring, it works very well here. The shape and size of characters’ pupils often feels a bit off, but otherwise facial expressions are well done.

While some might not enjoy this issue’s slower pace, this is still a great comic. X-Men fans should at least read this.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Uncanny X-Men 12 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of September 18, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    The big difference I found with Bachalo here was his layouts. He had a lot less white space than usual.

    The story was cool. Great characterization. Scott and Kitty both coming to the same conclusion was nice. I love them both, so I like seeing them agree, even if they don’t know they agree.

    Like

Leave a Reply

