Pretty Deadly 1 review

prettydeadly-01

Kelly Sue DeConnick’s run on Captain Marvel has been brilliant from the beginning. Her Avengers Assemble run has also been a delight, and I’ve heard the last issue (not written by her) wasn’t nearly as good. She also did a great 3-part story for Supergirl just before the New 52 started, and it’s a shame she didn’t have a chance to continue it. So when the first issue of her first creator-owned project released on an otherwise slow week, I had to pick it up.

This is not the kind of comic you can just rush through. When I did that for my first reading, I was very confused. After taking my time on a second reading though, I found a lot to like about Pretty Deadly 1. It somehow combines a western, a fairy tale, mythology and a mystery in a coherent manner. There’s a poetic introduction to the main character, and while she doesn’t show up until the last page, that doesn’t hurt this books storytelling in any way. There are plenty of other interesting characters, and a lot of mystery surrounding several of them.

As usual, DeConnick’s dialogue flows naturally. Every character seems to have their own way of talking, even within the confines of the western setting. The story flows naturally as well, told through both the dialogue and the art. Emma Rios’s art looks simple at first, but there’s a lot of visual storytelling. Visual cues and hints are spread throughout the pages, and even the layout helps make the story more interesting. Every character has an interesting design, such as the girl covered in vulture feathers and the blindfolded man with a large x-shaped scar on his face.

If that’s somehow not enough, there’s an extra bit after the main story. DeConnick takes two pages to tell us a fascinating set of stories about her personal life and how this series came to be.

While I still enjoyed FF 13 more, this is the best comic I’ve read this week … perhaps among the best I’ve read all year. I’ve never been this hooked after one issue before. There is so much creativity and attention to detail shoved into 24 pages. Whether you enjoy DeConnick’s writing, westerns, creative uses of Death or are just looking for something different, this is well worth looking into if you can still find it.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pretty Deadly 1 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of October 23, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    This was an amazing comic. Just beautiful. My favourite part was the song. That sequence was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever read.

    Such a wonderful comic. DeConnick and Rios are fantastic at what they do, and they make a fantastic pair.

    Like

Leave a Reply

