Witchblade 170 review

WB170-press-reader-1-60d5b

When Ron Marz first took on Witchblade, he revolutionized the series. He revealed the history behind the artifact of power, brought about the War of the Witchblades, and introduced several new characters. As great as Tim Seeley’s run was, it’s nice to see Marz return.

This comic begins two years after Tim Seeley’s run ends (in universe), in which Sara Pezzini has given up the witchblade and has become the sheriff in a small town. Even with the massive changes in her life, weird cases seem to find her. Three ritualistic murders have occurred in the last three weeks, with very little evidence pointing to the guilty party. The mystery isn’t explored too deeply in this issue though. The comic instead focuses on the characters involved, and it does a great job at that. Sara still feels like herself, even with all the baggage she carries.

The flashbacks show the start of Sara’s journey to rid herself of the artifact, but leaving enough to show the separation in the next issue. I’m not certain exactly when it happened or when it will happen, but at some point, Jackie of The Darkness is/was killed, changing the Witchblade’s place in the universe until a new Darkness host can be found. Sara understandably wants no part of that. Throw in a brutal cliffhanger and it’s hard not to want to read the next issue.  There are a lot of unanswered questions, and if Ron Marz’s previous Withblade run is anything to go by the answers will not disappoint.

The art is also very good. The snowy woods compliment the murder scene well, with blood-stained snow below the victim attached to an X-cross. Characters are very expressive with both their faces and body language. There’s everything from Sara’s shock and emotional pain from the Witchblade attacking people against her will to the confusion as the lights go out in the sheriff’s office. There’s a good use of backgrounds and environments. In the snowy landscape, you can see people’s breath. In darker locations, there’s a good use of lighting and shadows.

It’s obvious that Ron Marz is aiming for a very different Witchblade series and it’s off to a great start. As usual, this comic is delightfully weird, and it’s the perfect jumping on point for new readers. Everything you need to know is explained on the recap page or in the story itself. Having just recently finished Marz’s previous run, I’m looking forward to seeing where he goes with this new plotline.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Witchblade 170 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of October 30, 2013 | healed1337

  2. wwayne says:

    Speaking of Witchblade, I might be biased because of my love for the character and the series, but this is what I call a gorgeous cover: https://www.imagecomics.com/uploads/news/images/witchblade-174.jpg.
    To jump from one thing to another, are you reading Superman/Wonder Woman? Among the comics that have been launched in 2013, Superman/Wonder Woman is the best one, in my opinion (along with a Dark Horse series called simply X).

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      With all the controversy going on with DC’s editorial lately, I’m a little resistant to trying new titles. I’m also not much of a fan of the Superman/Wonder Woman relationship, so I haven’t read it yet. What’s the the series “X” about? I haven’t heard much of it.

      Thanks for the link though, I haven’t seen that cover yet. I’ve been so busy writing this past month that I haven’t had much time to look at comic news.

      Like

      • wwayne says:

        X has all the things I love most in comics: urban setting, dark atmosphere, street level and non super-powered leading character, action packed scenes, a highly entertaining yet very simple plot, a fast paced narration… X is a 5 stars series, that’s for sure. I bet you won’t be disappointed, if you give it a try. Thank you for your reply! : )

        Like

      • healed1337 says:

        And thanks again for the recommendation. I’ll have to check it out once Nanowrimo is over.

        Like

Leave a Reply

