X-Men 7 review

XMEN2013007-DC11-LR-93fb1

Brian Wood’s adjectiveless X-Men has been wonderful from the start. Even though it’s an all-female X-Men team, it doesn’t feel like it. It just feels like a classic X-Men book with a good mixture of action, character development and fun. It’s unfortunate that Wood’s story had to be interrupted by Battle of the Atom, but now we’re back on track.

On a side note, I’m choosing to ignore Brian Wood’s harassment scandal as there are conflicting statements on either side. Until anyone knows for sure what happened I’ll give Wood the benefit of the doubt.

The book opens with Lady Deathstrike returning after a long absence. She was last seen in an X-Men book fairly early in Rick Remender’s Uncanny X-Force run, having tried to bomb Utopia. I think she was also in Remender’s Secret Avengers, but I’ve long since forgotten everything that happened in that series. I’ve never been much of a fan of Deathstrike, but her resurrection in this issue could very well bring a great new direction for the villain. She’s merged with the heiress of a large company, both in body and mind. Her story is intriguing and it’s nice that she’s not obsessing over killing Wolverine too much.

The rest of the comic is mostly about two newcomers to the X-Men team, Karima and Monet St. Croix. Karima was once known as the Omega Sentinel, but her tech was disabled during the first storyline in Wood’s run. Now she’s more or less human again, yet still chooses to fight alongside the X-men. Monet and Karima connect almost instantly in a nice little scene, having similar experiences as of late.

This comic does a great job at introducing a new storyline, the new teammates and villains, while continuing the drama from the first story arc. There isn’t a lot of superhero action, instead giving us a break after the chaotic event from the last two months. More action is sure to come with the next issue. The only real problem is that Bling’s sub-plot is starting to feel a bit silly and pointless, but considering it takes up less than a page it doesn’t hold the book down much. The art is also good, but not flawless. It’s also a bright, colourful book that’s pleasing to the eye. Some of the characters look a bit too similar though, and there isn’t a whole lot of fine detail.

Wood’s X-Men is back to its own storyline, and it’s a welcome return. It’s easily the best X-Men book of the week, and possibly the best of the month so far. All X-Men fans should give this series a chance if they haven’t already.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to X-Men 7 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of November 20, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I loved this book. So much. So good. Monet joins the team, and is already snarking at Jubilee – I love that literally the first thing Monet says in thus book is insulting Jubilee. I’m glad to see Karima stick around. And I’m digging the Bling! subplot. Looks like she’s got a crush on Jubilee now, which is cool. And the Dodsons on art? Awesome. They do a fantastic job.

    Like

  3. eightbitbrit says:

    Argh! I can’t pick it up til tomorrow. So pumped! On the other hand, I just looked up all that stuff about Brian Wood’s allegedly harassing Tess Fowler… wow, neither side of the story makes sense in conjunction with the other on that one.

    Like

    • xmenxpert says:

      Yeah. I’m inclined to believe Fowler’s side is more accurate than Wood’s. It’s possible she’s lying. I doubt it. I’m very disappointed in Wood. I’m going to keep buying this book because it’s still fantastic writing. But I do think the sort of behaviour he exhibited should be allowed. I think the industry as a whole has some serious problem with sexual harassment, and that the people in the industry need to speak out more about that sort of thing.

      Like

      • eightbitbrit says:

        Yeah, I don’t know. I’m also reluctant to say she’s lying. And it’s not like I know him, he might be a dick, the feminist stuff might be some marketing on his part. Not a clue. I’m disappointed.

        Like

      • xmenxpert says:

        Here’s the thing: I don’t think the feminist stuff is an act, or marketing, or anything like that. I think he genuinely believes in what he writes. He likely doesn’t even see any real disconnect between what he does and what he says, because we’re designed to be hypocrites. It’s human nature.

        Like

      • eightbitbrit says:

        According to his side of the story the incident happened 8 years ago, people can/should/occasionally do… mature, so maybe that’s what happened. Which of course doesn’t mean that she can’t be mad about it. a person is either a misogynist jerk or not… He either respects women or he doesn’t… Errr, I don’t even know… I’ve met plenty of men who think they are feminist allies that spout some of the most inane crap. Lol …I know that was vague

        Like

      • xmenxpert says:

        A person can be a misogynist in his behaviour and a feminist in his philosophy. I think, in Wood’s case, his writing actually does promote feminist ideals. His behaviour is limited enough that it doesn’t offset his writing, which reaches a fairly wide audience.

        Like

      • healed1337 says:

        Wow did I miss a conversation while I was out for the evening. But yeah, unless someone commits a really terrible act, I won’t let it taint my perception of their work. Wood harassing someone 8 years ago pales in comparison to something like Mel Gibson’s multiple anti-Semitic outbursts.Whether he did harass Fowler a bit too much or not, nobody’s perfect.
        I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s truth on both sides of this scandal.

        Like

      • xmenxpert says:

        It might be worth noting that Fowler dates her encounter with Wood as being in 2007, 6 years ago. Again, I’m inclined to go with Fowler on this, simply because it would’ve had a bigger impact on her than it did on Wood, so she would remember the timeline better.

        Beside that, there’s also indications that it was part of a pattern of behaviour on Wood’s part. Fowler has said she got a lot of emails from other women he harassed, and a few people have gone public with their own accounts of Wood being sleazy and hitting on women even though he had a wife and daughter.

        There’s a timeline of the story at http://beccatoria.livejournal.com/179948.html. It’s pretty good, and very thoughtful. There’s been a lot of really good articles written about the situation (and, obviously, a lot of crap articles). But the big take-away, I would say, is that the comic industry is absolutely disgusting with this exact sort of thing. Brian Wood is just one part of a sick and broken culture, and that culture needs to be fixed.

        Like

Leave a Reply

