Nanowrimo 2013 – aftermath journal

Nanowrimo is over, which means my regular comic reviews are back to normal. This journal is a bit late because my brain was tired for the weekend. Since then, I’ve spent most of my free time catching up on comics, watching movies and playing video games. This journal’s going to be a bit short.

The last two weeks of November were kind of crazy, and not just from finishing my second Nanowrimo novel this year. I also went to a local convention called the Geek Art Show, along with some of the other Nanowriters. I bought some locally created comics, which I intend to post about when I can get around to them; hopefully this weekend.

There, I also met Anthony Del Col of Kill Shakespeare fame. He actually studied business at one of our local universities. He ran a free seminar on pitching comics to publishers at the Geek Art Show. He also seems like a really nice and friendly guy. I never heard of Kill Shakespeare before, but now I feel like I should read it because it sounds amazing. As someone who wants to get their novels published sometime, it was well worth going to. Many of the same concepts would apply, and some of his basic pitch ideas could be useful.

As for when I will start sending my books out to publishers, I still need more input from beta readers. Since May, I’ve only received one piece of feedback, and that’s from the second draft that will probably end up being the fifth book in the series. I should probably get on sending out the first book to more people to get feedback sooner. In the meantime, I’ll be taking at least a month-long break from writing, and then I’ll either do the second draft of the third story I wrote, or I’ll spend a month working on a number of short story ideas and improving the ones I’ve already written. I’m leaning toward short stories because maybe I can improve one of the short stories enough to get it published in a magazine. That would be a start while I wait for more novel feedback.

I’m not looking for anyone to be a beta reader though. I’d rather stick with either people I know or other local writers for now. Some of the other Nanowriters are trying to start up a local writing group that I’m very interested in joining. And of course while they’re setting that up, I’m still looking for a full time job.

So am I glad I participated in this event? Certainly, it was well worth meeting other local writers and finding out many of us have similar interests. It was good to meet some more of the local nerd culture. It was encouraging to meet a locally published writer and good to get some advice on that front. Will I do this again next year? I certainly hope so.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

