Comics of December 11, 2013

This week’s pull list is quite small, which only means that next week, the last full comic week before Christmas, is going to be massive. There are already 18 comics on my list for next week, and there might be even more. But let’s talk about this week.

There are only five comics on my pull list this week. They include Avengers AI 7, Uncanny X-Men 15, Cable and X-Force 17, Batman 26 and Batgirl 26. Here are my first impressions. Links to full reviews will be added as they’re posted.

Uncanny X-Men 15 review

Batgirl 26 review

Batman 26 review

And as promised, I would read the locally made comic this past weekend. I didn’t review it until now because I always read a comic twice before I review it. But here it is – my first webcomic/independent comic review. This probably won’t be a regular thing.

Cadaverific 1-7 review

Avengers AI 7 was fun. It has very little to do with AI’s main story, instead opting for an Inhumanity tie-in. Daredevil makes a guest appearance as Henry Pym and Doombot help him find a missing client. It’s not a surprise that the client turns out to be an Inhuman. Doombot really shines in this issue, and daredevil’s inclusion doesn’t feel all that out of place. My only real complaint is about the art – body proportions seem to be all over the place, with oddly angled faces and weird body shapes. It’s not terrible, but it is a little distracting. I’m not sure if I’d recommend this to Avengers AI regulars as it does little with the main story, but it’s worth reading for those who are interested in inhumanity, or if you just enjoy the three characters I’ve mentioned.

Cable and X-Force 17 was fun. It concludes Forge’s struggle with The Adversary, while each of the other split teams finish their own fights. Each story is fun in its own way. I wouldn’t call it a brilliant story, but it’s fun enough. Cable and X-Force regulars should read this.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of December 11, 2013

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Avengers AI was great. Not as good as usual, but still very good. Lots of fun. I love Pym, DD was a cool guest star (especially as it builds on the friendship they’ve developed in Daredevil), and Doombot is always awesome. And it did an interesting job tying into Inhumanity.

    UXM was great. The first half was a ton of fun, really hilarious. The second half was tense and interesting. It also touched, at the very end, on some of the questions people have had about Inhumans and mutants. I don’t know if that’s going to continue to be an issue, but I hope it is. Bendis might do a bit more with it, but I doubt any other writers will bother.

    Cable and X-Force was good, though the Adversary plot thread was wrapped up a bit too quickly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

