All New Marvel Now Point 1 review

3556388-01

Because this is more of a collection of previews than a comic on its own, I’m shaking up my usual format. Each little story is exclusive to this comic mind you, but each one’s from the writer behind each series being teased. Even with 50 pages of story, at $6 this is only worth picking up if you’re interested in all six of the titles being teased here. Instead of recommending this comic as a whole or not, I’ll look at each individual story and state my thoughts.

Loki’s story is spread throughout the issue, as the title character is searching for series of keys to unlock a weapon. This was kind of fun, and makes some good uses of his manipulative skills and abilities. There’s a lot of potential here. I’m not sure if I’d stick with this kind of series for long, but I’ll at least try the first issue.

Silver Surfer’s story is also pretty fun. He’s travelling through the universe with a human girl, showing her some of the prettiest things he’s ever seen. After a brief fight and some encouragement, they agree to explore the universe together – to go to places neither have been. The art is very appealing and gives the comic a playful mood. This series looks like it could be amazing. I wasn’t looking forward to this before, but now I kind of am.

The invaders story is very text heavy. There’s a lot of reading here, and a lot of exposition. While it’s all kind of interesting, if the main series is like this it will feel really slow. It’s mostly about the Kree Pursuer, who will probably be a major villain in the Invaders series. Because it’s so exposition heavy, it’s hard to know what the book will feel like when it does come out. I’ll at least give the first issue a shot.

Black Widow’s story is quick yet effective. It shows how well she plans ahead on the field, while her narration is a short, alternate version of the narrating in today’s Black Widow 1. If this and BW1 are anything to go by, this should be a fun espionage series. It felt off when Black Widow said “dude” though.

Miss Marvel’s story was probably my favourite in this comic. It’s a fun introduction to Kamala Khan, a Muslim teenager with shape and size changing abilities. As said in several interviews, she does have similarities to Spider-Man’s early years. She’s struggling to balance herself between her superhero life and her somewhat traditional home life. Every successive interview I’ve read made this series sound better, and this little story only increases that. I’m looking forward to this title’s launch in February.

The Avengers story was kind of fun, but also highlights why I stopped reading Jonathan Hickman’s Avengers. There’s very little room for characterization in his series, partly because of how massive the cast is. Even this little story focuses more on the action than the story, but for what it was, it’s enjoyable enough. It also hints that AIM will have a much bigger effect on the world soon, and that could make things interesting. I dropped Hickman’s Avengers a while ago, and this story didn’t convince me to give Avengers World a shot. It’s well written sure, but it’s far too story focused for my interests. And yes, I know this short was written by Nick Spencer and not Hickman.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All New Marvel Now Point 1 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of January 8, 2014 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    The Loki segments were good. Lots of cleverness.

    The Silver Surfer story was great. The writing and art are both funny, but sweet. Everything Mike Allred draws seems to fall into that description.

    The Invaders story was OK.

    The Black Widow story was very cool. Helps showcase why she’s the best spy in the world.

    The Ms. Marvel story was great. This is definitely a classic teen hero comic, just with Muslim-American flavouring. There’s a really nice sense of humour throughout it. Even the explanations of what the various words mean have some nice humour, making it educational and fun. Kamala’s power is pretty neat, and she uses it in some neat ways. I’m very excited for this series.

    And then the Avengers World was OK. Funny, but still kinda shallow. The issue that came out was similar: Plenty of fairly clever dialogue, but no real depth to the characters. They quip and that’s about it. It reminds me of Bendis’ Avengers work, actually.

    Like

Leave a Reply

