Comics of January 8, 2014

It’s the first Wednesday of the year, and the first week of Marvel Now. Several titles launched this week. Black Widow, All New X-Factor and Avengers World each had their first issues. Because I’m no longer reading Hickman’s Avengers, I skipped Avengers World, but I picked up the other two along with All New Marvel Now point one. I also picked up Avengers AI 8, Young Avengers 15, Cable and X-Force 18 and Aphrodite IX 7. Here are my first impressions – links to full reviews will be added below.

All New Marvel Now Point 1 review

All New X-Factor 1 review

Black Widow 1 review

Aphrodite IX 7 review

Avengers AI 8 was great fun. The story is getting more intense, but the mood is still lighthearted. This issue also has plenty of great jokes (half of which involve Doombot). The action and art are both very creative. It’s nice to see Rogue make an appearance here as well, and hopefully that means most other titles will ignore her character assassinating death in Uncanny Avengers. It’s hard not to just talk about everything fun about this issue. Just check it out if you haven’t already.

Young Avengers 15 was alright. I’ve said many times that this series just isn’t in my taste, but even then I was a bit disappointed with this one. The main reason is that it just doesn’t give the main Young Avengers characters all that much panel time. Sure, teenaged Loki gets a lot of time, but he has an upcoming solo series anyway. What of the other characters that don’t have guaranteed appearances coming up? Even so, this is a well-written and very creative comic. It’s not in my taste, but there are plenty who will enjoy it.

Cable and X-Force 18 was decent, but a slight step down from usual. It does a decent job at setting up the crossover. Hope’s anger toward Bishop is highlighted very well. This issue really only falls apart once the villain shows up, because hardly anything is done with him. As long as the future issues in this crossover use him well though, consider this complaint temporary. If you’ve been reading either Cable and X-Force or Uncanny X-Force, this is worth picking up.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of January 8, 2014

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Black Widow was good. A solid comic. Some nice intrigue, some little shades-of-grey touches. I hope she keeps the cat.

    X-Factor was awesome, naturally. Not writing Gambit’s accent is the best decision PAD could’ve made.

    Point 1 was good. Some very good previews.

    Avengers AI was great. So much fun. And I love the complex themes being explored.

    YA was great. A really nice ending to a fantastic series. That last page. Feels. So many feels. Also, America’s comment to Kate was good. I’m going to miss Miss America. As far as the lack of screen time goes, most of them got that in the previous issue. This wrapped up the roles Loki and Prodigy played, solved the PatriNot mystery and brought back Speed. And, of course, it gave Noh some closure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

