Black Widow 1 review

3556393-01a

Last year, the only movie Avengers character without a solo title was Black Widow. That changed yesterday with the release of Black Widow 1. Throughout her history, atonement has been a fairly regular theme. This issue sticks with that, maybe a little too blatantly. Even so, this was a good comic.

This is the first time I’ve read anything by Nathan Edmondson, and he does a good job here. Natasha is taking a number of jobs to either save people’s lives or arrest notorious criminals. There are two jobs in a single comic, each with the title character doing what she does best. She outfights and outsmarts everyone she encounters. The narration does a great job at explaining why she wants to do it. If there is a problem, it’s that the series has no major villain or shadow figure yet, but that could easily change soon.

The art is as usual for Phil Noto. His work can take a while to get used to, and sometimes his colours blend together. But he’s a master at visual storytelling; this issue makes that perfectly clear. The facial expressions are subtle yet expressive. The environment often helps tell the story. Often times, his sequential art needs no words to convey what’s happening. There are times in this comic where panels almost feel like stills from an action movie.

Black Widow is off to a good start. The character is well established for new readers, and the book’s premise is set up well. If Edmondson wants the series to last, there will have to be some sort of long-term conflict. In any case, this is worth picking up for fans of the character, or anyone interested in a self-contained espionage book.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black Widow 1 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of January 8, 2014 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    A solid debut. Some nice ethical ambiguity thrown in. I hope she keeps the cat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

