Writing update – Short Story Month

It’s been a while since my last post about writing. It’s been a bit of a chaotic month, being a retail worker during Christmas. This month hasn’t been much easier. I’ve been packing up all my stuff preparing for my room’s much needed renovation. I’ve been working some … unfavorable hours at work. But there’s no way I’d let these measly challenges to stop me from writing.

In the year of 2013, I rediscovered my love of fiction writing. I ended up writing the rough draft for five novels (all in the same series), the second draft for two of them, a handful of short stories and two kids’ books. I participated in Nanowrimo for the first time and found it very rewarding. While I have ideas for more novels on top of those five, it’s about time I start fixing the written ones up to try to get them published. That said, I’m still waiting for more feedback before I start my third drafts. So what to do with a situation like this?

Short Story month! With the exception of Wednesdays (where I read lots of comics and review three or four), I’ve been writing a short story each day since January 5th. In fact I wrote two yesterday. Today I finished the 14th of them. My plan is to write one more, and then spend the rest of the month fixing all of the short stories I’ve done since last January. Hopefully I can fix a couple enough to get them published. I’m already sure that some won’t be worth publishing unless they’re all in a compilation together, but one has to start somewhere.

At the end of the month I may also share one of this month’s short stories, as well as two of my short stories from a few years back. There are two in particular that, while I still enjoy them, I’ll never try to get them published elsewhere. The one, “Ball of Chaos”, is just a bizarre yet fun story about a magic ball that makes people hallucinate. The other is so dark it’s kind of sadistic, so I won’t spoil that one yet.

Moving back to my novel series, I hope to fix up The Great Unholy War soon. It’s already the 100th anniversary of the war the book takes place in. But if I don’t get enough feedback by my next writing month, I’ll instead write my third second draft – probably for the third book I wrote (which is the 6th in the series continuity). Besides, that rough draft is approaching its first birthday, and I almost have too many ideas for improving on it.

Hopefully I’ll find the time this month to talk about one of the other novels I read last year. That’s it for now.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

