Black Widow 2 review

Black-Widow-2-Cover-b75e2

So not only does Black Widow finally have a solo series again, but we have two issues in the first month, and the third issue is only two weeks away. That’s one way to kick off a title for the Avengers’ greatest spy.

The first issue did a great job exploring Natasha’s mindset. It set the premise that she’d be taking a bunch of odd jobs on the side, mostly to atone for her sins. There was some great spy action with some very clever tactics, along with solid writing. This issue is all about one mission, and explores how no matter how good she is, she’ll still make mistakes here and there. It’s also about taking a mission from the wrong client. Throughout the issue, she has to correct her mistakes as well as fight an opponent, Scorpion, who is dangerously close to her level. I hope to see this guy again.

While this isn’t a problem yet, this series doesn’t seem to have any direction so far. There isn’t an overall story, nor is there an evident character direction. That can be fine for the first two issues if they’re well done, and these two issues are. But there needs to be some sort of greater arc soon or Black Widow could get stale fast.

I can’t remember Phil Noto ever having drawn two comics in one month before, but it doesn’t suffer here. Noto has a great sense of visual storytelling, somehow using backgrounds and foregrounds to help tell the story. He’s great at subtle facial expressions. Some of the page layouts in this issue are very creative, with divided panels made up of a larger drawings interrupted by flashbacks. The action also flows nicely, showing tactics from both Black Widow and Scorpion without any need of narration. His art can take a while to get used to though, and the colouring can feel a bit washed out sometimes.

While there isn’t an evident direction for the character or story yet, the first two issues have expertly established both the character and the book’s premise. They work in different ways and complement each other well. With Rick Remender’s Captain America going the sci-fi route, this may be Marvel’s only ongoing espionage series. If this is the level of quality in store for Black Widow’s new series, sign me up.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Black Widow 2 review

  1. Pingback: Marvel comics of January 22, 2014 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    This was very good. I like how it shows how grey her world is. The moral ambiguity. “Your brother was a murderer. I’m a killer.” That’s a great line that shows how complex the world she lives in really is.

    I’m still hoping she adopts Liho.

    Like

  3. eightbitbrit says:

    Errrr… you’re getting me interested in this series… I LOVE LOVE the art. I read the short in Point One and I was not a fan. But maybe…

    Like

Leave a Reply

