Comics of January 29, 2014

This week’s been interesting. I’ve been moving so much stuff around in the last few days. My room’s being renovated next week, so I’m still not sure how much time I’ll have for comic reviews this week or next. Also, I’m going to be cutting back a bit because of a number of all the new titles arriving next month. So let’s get to it.

The comics I picked up this week include Guardians of the Galaxy 11, Uncanny Avengers 16, Uncanny X-Force 17, Thor: God of Thunder 18, Avengers Assemble 23, X-Men Legacy 23, Superior Spider-Man 26, Cyber Force 8, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 30 and Witchblade 172. I was going to pick up Lil’ Sonja, but neither local store had it. Here are my first impressions.

Uncanny Avengers 16 review

Guardians of the Galaxy 11 review

Witchblade 172 review

Thor: God of Thunder 18 was decent. It’s a one-off story about young Thor and a dragon. Saying much beyond that would spoil much of the issue.

Avengers Assemble 23 was great. Wolverine and Spider Girl team up to find a new inhuman. What makes this comic work so well is the dynamic between the two. Wolverine spends most of the issue giving Spider Girl unwanted yet decent advice, while she often makes fun of him.  It’s a shame not as many people read this as Hickman’s Avengers, because it’s so much more enjoyable.

X-Men Legacy 23 was alright. Legion is losing control of his powers, which is threatening the very earth itself. As epic as it is, Legion’s long narration drowns out the story’s impact. As the second last issue of Legacy, it’s worth picking up if you’ve read the rest of it, but any new readers will be completely lost.

Superior Spider-Man 26 was decent. The goblin fight was good, but this is clearly a setup issue for Goblin Nation and the return of Peter Parker. Not the greatest issue of Superior, but still worth reading for regulars.

Cyber Force 8 was alright. The way this series is makes it very difficult to explain in one paragraph. It also doesn’t to the greatest job at explaining things to new readers. If you’ve been enjoying this series, pick it up. I’m probably dropping this though, as I’m not really enjoying it that much.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 30 was great. Leonardo continues to recover from his brainwashing. The bulk of the narration is told through a letter Michelangelo is writing, and it does a perfect job at both explaining the situation to new readers and exploring his mindset. Throw in a bit of story development and you have yet another solid Ninja Turtles issue.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of January 29, 2014

  1. xmenxpert says:

    GotG was kinda meh. I just can’t get into this series. Bendis is doing a really weak job, focusing more on quips than characterization.

    UA was a well-done fight scene. But whatever.

    UXF was good, though I would’ve preferred a longer epilogue at the end.

    Thor was good. Hilarious, and heart-breaking. Poor Skabgagg.

    Avengers Assemble was great. I love Spider-Girl.

    XML was good, but the meta-narrative stuff just feels like a rip-off of how Gillen ended his JiM run.

    Superior Spider-Man was good. I love the twist at the end. And Goblin Nation should be a lot of fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

