Uncanny Avengers 16 review

Uncanny-Avengers-16-Cover-6e655

The Celestial Executioner has decided to destroy Earth. Most of the Uncanny Avengers are dead, leaving but Captain America, Thor and Wasp to fight the twin children of Apocalypse. All mutants have been raptured away from the doomed planet. Somehow, I don’t care about any of this.

This series has its fans, and why not? The storytelling is epic, and the few remaining heroes are paying the price for their earlier lack of unity. The problem is that it’s way too dark, and it’s clear that this story isn’t taking place in the main Marvel Universe anymore. According to the recap page, Wolverine is dead. Havok is dead. Two horsemen of Apocalypse are dead, and they were only just resurrected. And it’s all the same overly dark storytelling Rick Remender relies on a bit too much. It’s rare that a character under his pen remains dead for long – some have even been resurrected in the same issue. Other times, he uses it to push one character aside for his own. I’m simply bored of it.

That’s not to say there’s nothing to enjoy in Uncanny Avengers 16. The fight between Thor, Captain America and the Apocalypse twins is quite impressive. Even the blind twin is able to keep up with Steve Rogers’ fighting without use of her powers, forcing him to rely on strategy. It would be nice to have a better explanation on exactly what their powers are though, as they seem to do little to Thor in his part of the fight.

It’s also neat that how of Earth’s geniuses are working together to solve the problem of the Executioner. Even Dr. Doom is teaming up with the likes of Tony Stark, Bruce Banner and Hank Pym. It’s strange that Mr. Fantastic is absent though. It’s also disappointing that even as Earth’s remaining heroes move to fight the Executioner, we don’t see even one panel of the actual fight.

While the comic is mediocre, the art is very good. The pages with Earth’s brightest minds have a lot of detailed screens in the backgrounds complete with monitor glow. The fight scene on the space station is complete with debris, burn marks on Captain America’s face and all sorts of lighting effects from characters’ powers. Facial expressions are also very well done, with a good variety of sadness, determination and fatigue. The last page spread is simply grand.

As good as the art is, it doesn’t save this issue for me. I’m bored of Uncanny Avengers. I’m bored of all these likely not permanent deaths. I’m bored of epic storytelling for the sake of it. If you’ve been enjoying Uncanny Avengers so far then you’ll probably continue enjoying it. I cannot recommend this issue though, nor will I be reading this series anymore.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Uncanny Avengers 16 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of January 29, 2014 | healed1337

  2. How strange — every other review I read raved about this book :-/

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      I’m not denying this book’s popularity, but I haven’t enjoyed this series in a while. And that’s coming from someone who very much enjoyed most of Rick Remender’s Uncanny X-Force run.

      Like

  3. xmenxpert says:

    This issue looked good. It was a very well-done fight. But yeah, considering I haven’t been overly invested in the actual story, a good fight doesn’t mean much to me. I really just want this whole thing to be over and done with so it can move on to something else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

