Comics of February 5, 2014

It’s a very light week for me, and I’m thankful for it. The noise from the renovation of my room is kind of distracting. Also, I finished reading the She Hulk Diaries novel yesterday, so I’ll likely be posting about that later this week or early next week. Long story short though, it was kind of awesome but not quite flawless.

The comics I picked up today include Ms. Marvel 1, Black Widow 3, Avengers Ai 9, X-Men 10, The Star Wars 5 and Aphrodite IX 8. Here are my first impressions – links to full reviews will be added as they’re posted. I was considering picking up Loki 1, but my shop didn’t have too many copies so I left it for those who would be more interested.

Ms. Marvel 1 review

X-Men 10 review

Aphrodite IX 8 review

Black Widow 3 was good. If the first issue was about Black Widow’s mindset and skills while the second was about how she can still make mistakes and knows how to survive them, then this issue is about how her ethics can affect her missions and surroundings. While I still think this book needs a more clear direction soon, the first three issues work very well together while each act as an easy jumping on point.

Avengers AI 9 was fun. It’s a bunch of Avengers in the AI world, filled with some very creative fight scenes and the best use of “Avengers Assemble” I’ve seen since Captain America picked up Thor’s hammer (one of the few good moments in “Fear Itself”). Throw in a bit of story build up and you have a unique comic that’s both weird and fun.

The Star Wars 5 was good. It’s basically George Lucas’s first draft for the original star wars, turned into a comic. The story is very different from the movies, yet the similarities grow clearer with each issue. I didn’t like this one as much as previous issues though, and I’m not sure if I could explain why. By now, if you can’t find the first four issues, it’s probably worth waiting for the trade. But any Star Wars fan who also reads comics should definitely check this series out one way or another.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of February 5, 2014

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Ms. Marvel was great. Really, really good. Really fun, and with very believable characters.

    Black Widow was great. More dark stuff.

    Avengers AI was great. Really fun. The Avengers Assembled!

    X-Men was really good, but with some weird storytelling problems. I do love that Wood is making use of the teen X-Men, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

