New Warriors 1 review

New-Warriors-1-Cover-a8615

This is the first time I’ve ever read a comic with the title “New Warriors”. I don’t know much about the main team members, other than Speedball’s involvement with Civil War, Fear itself Homefront and Avengers Academy. Really, the only reason I’m picking this up is because of the Scarlet Spider’s involvement. Because of that, I’m also not sure whether to recommend this to those who’ve enjoyed previous New Warriors titles.

On my first reading, this felt a bit disjointed. I still think that, but there’s a stronger link than I first noticed. Many of the team’s characters are in completely different geographical locations. Speedball, Justice and a few others are in New Salem, which is supposed to be a safe haven for magical beings. Kaine Parker (Scarlet Spider) and Aracely are in Mexico. Sun Girl is in New York. Nova is in New Mexico. They each have a little fight to show their abilities and personalities, and all of these scenes are entertaining. Afterward, each of these teams face villains bent on wiping out “impure blood” on Earth.

Their geographical distance holds this issue back a bit, but each individual scene is still enjoyable. It’s clear that the Evolutionary threat will bring the team together by the end of this storyline. The art is also good, and only adds to the sense of fun. It’s bright and colourful. Half of the time, the New Warriors are smiling as they’re fighting criminals though, and that was a little distracting.

As fun as this comic is, it’s almost trying too hard to be fun. There are a few too many jokes for a comic where the villains are attempting genocide. Despite its shortcomings, I’d still recommend this to fans of Yost’s Scarlet Spider series, or for those who are interested in a team book that’s neither Avengers nor X-Men related. I enjoyed it enough to at least try the second issue. Hopefully this series will find a better balance in the future.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Warriors 1 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of February 19, 2014 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I liked this. The Evolutionaries were a terrible concept when they were introduced in X-Men a few years ago, but Yost has a knack for taking bad concepts and making them work, so we’ll see if he can do it here. The characters are fun. I actually want to see more of New Salem and the Salem’s Seven. That’s a really neat twist on the old concept. I’d love to see them get explored a bit more. I also like Sun Girl. She’s neat.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (02/16/14-02/21/14) | The Speech Bubble

  4. Pingback: The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (02/22/14-02/28/14) | The Speech Bubble

Leave a Reply

