X-Men 12 review

X-Men12

This series started off so well when it introduced Brian Wood’s all-female X-Men team. Of all the X-Men books, it had the most classic-style feel, a threatening villain and entertaining writing. Most of the Sisterhood arc has felt rushed though, with entire scenes seemingly missing at times and some exposition skimmed over. Even so, what remained is consistently entertaining. This issue is an improvement, but it’s not quite without problems.

 

Madelyne Pryor returns in the opening pages, in yet another scene that’s rushed and feels a bit baffling as a result. It quickly skims over what happened to Anna Cortez in the last issue and doesn’t explain how Pryor returned. As I’ve said in previous reviews, this arc really could have used an extra issue or two. After Pryor’s resurrection though, this issue improves greatly.

The climatic showdown goes a bit too easy for the X-men as they face very little resistance, but it’s still a fun read. Monet begins the fight very similar to her first fight in the story arc – by smashing through a building and targeting “the largest, most arrogant body heat signature”. Psylocke shows what she’s made of when she humiliates Typhoid Mary in a duel of swords and telepathy. The quips are consistently entertaining, and there’s a moment where the Sisterhood make a decision that’s hilarious yet not completely unforeseen. The story wraps up neatly enough, and with the possibility we’ll see the rest of the Sisterhood very soon. After all, they’re far too dangerous not to see them again.

The sentinel beach fight is, as with the last few issues, the best part of the comic. It concludes with an impressive showing by Quentin Quire along with a resolution to the dispute between Mercury and Bling. I found that storyline a bit annoying, but it wraps up nicely here. And then there’s Jubilee’s brilliant line on Hellion’s “new uniform”.

The art is fairly good. The last issue had maybe a few teeth too many showing, but this issue tones that down. The panels where Monet crashes through the building is full of flying debris, motion blur and structural damage. Amara’s look of surprise when she learns the X-Men found them is priceless, as is Arkea’s frustration when she’s completely cornered. The beach fight has a grittier look, and the water looks so good in certain panels.

This isn’t the best X-Men comic this week, but it’s still entertaining. Hopefully the next story arc won’t feel so rushed. If you’ve been following the title up till now, this issue is still worth reading as its better than the last few. Either way, I’d certainly recommend the first story arc to any X-Men fans who haven’t read it yet.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to X-Men 12 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of March 19, 2014 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    This was good. The final confrontation was entertaining, with Monet being badass and Psylocke’s snark being great. I love Maddie and Selene deciding to just say, “Meh, I’m outta here.”

    The resolution of the Bling/Mercury subplot was nice. Kinda sweet. I hope they don’t get dropped now, though. I want to see their relationship develop. They’ll make a cute couple. I wonder what their ship name will be. Julie Power and Karolina Dean were Rainbow Love. Maybe Bling and Mercury can be Shiny Love?

    Like

Leave a Reply

