Red Lanterns 32 review

RL-Cv32-ds-2a176If this and Supergirl 32’s releases were switched, it would have made Supergirl 32 less confusing. It still wouldn’t have helped its other faults, but still. This issue shows the scene where Supergirl is kicked out of the Red Lanterns.

The last issue of Red Lanterns ended with Guy Gardner leading his team of Reds to rescue a teammate of theirs, Rankorr. Since I only started reading this series when Supergirl joined them, I don’t know much about Rankorr other than his name reminding me of the Rancor from Return of the Jedi. When they find their former teammate, they discover that Atrocitus has done something to him. The following fight scene again shows how brutal the Red Lanterns can be when their rage completely overtakes their mind. And while all this is happening, Atrocitus begins his true revenge.

The action is fun, but the real highlight of the issue is Atrocitus’s actions and when the team returns to their home base. It shows how dangerous Atrocitus is without even fighting. Another great moment is the conversation where Guy Gardner kicks Supergirl out. His reasoning is actually very solid, and it shows how they have grown to respect each other. It shows some actual character development on Supergirl’s part, something that’s been lacking in Tony Bedard’s writing since he took over her solo series. It almost makes me wish that Charles Soule was writing Supergirl instead, because he seems to understand her as a character. I wouldn’t want him to be overwhelmed though.

The art by J. Calafiore is solid. The fight scene is full of all sorts of red energy and debris flying around. The way Rankorr’s energy seems to form spikes is kind of frightening, giving his feral expression a little extra oomph. The environmental detail at the Red Lantern base is very good, especially once Atrocitus starts corrupting everything.

In the five issues involved with this Supergirl/Red Linters crossover, Soule has convinced me to stick with this title. It strikes a great balance between dark and fun, and there’s a fair amount of character development to back it up. Also, everything you need to know is explained in the comic itself, making it a good jumping on point for anyone interested in checking out the Green Lantern’s angry counterpart.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red Lanterns 32 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of June 25, 2014 | healed1337

Leave a Reply

