X-Force 6 review

XFORCE2014006-DC12-35c8eWhen I reviewed the first issue of Simon Spurrier’s X-Force, I found it kind of disappointing. The repetitive narration and the overuse of the word “baby” annoyed me, and so did several other aspects. Then the second issue came along and it was awesome. Since then, every single issue that came along brought in some sort of clever twist by the end, mostly involving one of the characters. This issue brings several major twists, including probably the best one yet.

Spurrier’s X-Force 6 concludes the opening story arc, with X-Force’s struggle against the Russian weapons dealer, Volga. The last issue saw Cable being blown up, leaving the rest of the team at Volga’s mercy. The issue then flashes back to explain exactly what happened to Hope Summers and why she seems to be in a coma. The action starts shortly after the flashback ends, and then the twists come. It’s hard to speak much more about the plot without spoiling the first major twist, but it was kind of foreshadowed in the last few issues. The issue ending twist however is pure genius, and after reading the issue a second time, it’s hinted at several times through X-Force 6’s narration.

The art by Jorge Molina is great. It’s a mostly clean appearance with smooth details. Despite mostly taking place in a darkened environment, it’s colourful and appealing to the eye. The action panels are a little chaotic yet they’re still easy to follow, and Marrow is frightening when she unleashes her powers. A neat film grain effect is added to the flashbacks, which is also appropriate since they’re made up of security footage that Meme is watching.

Through X-Men Legacy and X-Force, Spurrier has proven himself capable of writing a comic series that is simply unpredictable. It doesn’t hurt that his characterization is very good and the action is fun. The last few issues have fixed all the problems I had with the first one. X-Force fans should enjoy this title, regardless of which volume of X-Force you enjoyed, and anyone interested in a black-ops mutant title should check it out if they haven’t already.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to X-Force 6 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of June 25, 2014 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    The twists were good. The Meme reveal was foreshadowed enough that I picked up on it early in the issue, so it didn’t come as a surprise, but honestly, that’s how a good twist should work. The dialogue is clever, the action’s exciting. It’s a great book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

