Black Widow 11 review

BWIDOW2014011-DC11-LR-183c8Ever since they announced this issue, I’ve been very excited for it. X-23’s solo series hinted at the idea of Black Widow having more of a presence in her life. Also, Marjorie Liu stated in an interview that her plans would have had them working together if the series hadn’t been cancelled. And why not? These two characters have very similar skill sets when written properly, and personalities that are at least comparable.

Black Widow 11, written by Nathan Edmondson is about the two of them working together to save Natasha’s lawyer, Isiah, from a man she saved years ago. She asks for Laura’s help, seeing as she may be even angrier than herself due to Wolverine’s upcoming death. This issue is pretty much straight action, with the two of them showcasing their tactical skills, fighting expertise and even Laura’s superhuman athletic abilities in one panel. On that front, this is the best written X-23 we’ve seen in a while, even if some of her dialogue feels a little too casual. Even through all of this, there’s still room to further develop Black Widow’s ongoing story involving an organization called Chaos. The two of them have a 2-page conversation at the end, which does a great job at emotionally exploring both characters. With the plot thickening further on the last page, this series will likely get more interesting soon.

Phil Noto’s art may not be in everyone’s taste, but he’s a master at visual storytelling. Right from the first panel where they show up, you can tell Black Widow and X-23 are angry. Isiah appears badly beaten, with an eye nearly swollen shut. When Natasha swings from one building to another, motion blur is used to good effect. Some of the colouring blends together a bit in some pages, but it usually works to a dramatic effect. For example, the pages are very red when Laura starts fighting, and when the two characters converse on a train about their issues, almost everything besides them is shaded blue.

This issue makes me want to see Natasha and Laura team up more. Not just both characters are awesome, but because they work so well as a team. Come on Marvel, a Black Widow/X-23 ongoing would be amazing, or a mini-series at least. In case you couldn’t already tell, this is an easy recommendation for fans of either character, or anyone interested in an espionage series in the Marvel Universe.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Black Widow 11 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of October 1, 2014 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    Widow and Laura do have a good chemistry. And I love seeing Laura be badass, so there’s that. I’d be fine with them teaming up more often.

    Like

  3. healed1337 says:

    This is kind of awesome. I just got a notification that Nathan Edmondson just favourited my auto tweet of this blog post.

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (09/26/14-10/02/14) | The Speech Bubble

Leave a Reply

