Captain Marvel 8 review

4143653-08This might just be the weirdest 2-part story I’ve ever read from a Marvel title, and I mean that in the best way possible. In the last issue, Captain Marvel’s cat, Chewie, started laying eggs … and that’s the normal part. In the past, Rocket Raccoon had always referred to Chewie as a Flerken. Now that Chewie has been revealed as a flerken, Carol’s ship is under attack by an unknown force who is greatly interested in Carol’s flerken cat. To make matters worse, Chewie and Rocket hate each other.

This comic finds a way to make the story even weirder. The attack force somehow takes over Carol’s ship controls and also sends in some sort of sentient black goo. Tick takes an escape shuttle with all the eggs while Carol fights in space. Rocket and the flerken have to set aside their differences and fight the goo inside the ship. It makes for a very dynamic fight scene and Kelly Sue DeConnick’s dialogue really shines here. The communication between Carol, Rocket and Tick show how great a team they can make when they try. It feels real, from Tick’s apologies for badly flying the shuttle to Rocket’s heartfelt words after learning that Chewie might be the last of her kind.

The art by Marcio Takara is solid. It’s a simple look with only a few fine details, but it’s smooth and appealing. The panels with Rocket firing on the goo look appropriately chaotic. On one panel where Carol charges up for a powerful energy blast, the entire background is yellow with motion lines and light reflecting off her suit. The one panel that is full of detail is when Chewie unleashes her monster abilities … and it’s easily the best moment in this comic.

My favourite comic of the week is between this, X-Force 10 and Death Vigil 4. What they all have in common is that they’re very entertaining and have at least one laugh out loud moment. You know it’s a good week when, as funny as Rocket Raccoon 4 is, it’s not even the third funniest comic of the week. Anyway, Captain Marvel’s series is one that any Marvel reader should be sure to check out if they haven’t already. Seriously, do yourself a favour and give this series a shot.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Captain Marvel 8 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of October 8, 2014 – first impressions | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I always love KSD. I love Carol, I love Rocket, I love cats. And this had lots of kitties. Kitties! Kitties kitties kitties kitties! Yay kitties! KSD writes great dialogue, and this issue is just a blast. I’m excited for the next issue: Lila Cheney! Woot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

