Comic releases October 22, 2014

It’s Wednesday, which means comics. Several issues I’ve been looking forward to released today, but there has also been some sad news from Marvel’s January 2015 solicitations. Both X-Factor and She Hulk are ending in January – two titles I’ve been thoroughly enjoying. Marvel has also announced that the Wolverines weekly series will be $4; that’s a bit much for a weekly. I’ll still give it at least 4 issues, but this means that I won’t be picking up the Weapon X mini-series (which I was considering) and I might have to drop a few other titles to continue with Wolverines for longer than the first 4.

Anyway, the comics I picked up this week include The Logan Legacy 2 (X-23), Cyclops 6, Amazing Spider-Man 8, She Hulk 9, X-Force 11, Amazing X-Men 12, All New X-Factor 15, Tomb Raider 9 and Red Lanterns 35. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added as they’re posted.

The Logan Legacy 2 (x-23) review

She Hulk 9 review

Amazing Spider-Man 8 review

Cyclops 6 is decent. After Greg Rucka’s great 5 issues, John Layman takes over. It’s a decent start with Cyclops having trouble fitting into his father’s crew, followed by a new plot being set up involving his father’s crew being captured. It’s not as good as Rucka’s run so far, but it has potential.

X-Force 11 is hardcore. It digs into Hope Summers’ head while the team begin to invade a facility monitoring every mutant on Earth. There’s also a dark twist at the end involving one of the X-Force members that will definitely lead to a big confrontation soon. This series continues to grow more fascinating with each issue and is shaping up to be the best X-Force run yet. If you’re interested in a black-ops mutant team, X-Force is highly recommended.

Amazing X-Men 12 is fun. It’s not great, but it’s a satisfying conclusion to the World War Wendigo story arc. Not much else to say – pick it up if you’re interested in a story where the X-Men team up with Alpha Flight.

All New X-Factor 15 is good. It’s an Axis tie-in, but stands well on its own as an X-Factor book. Pretty much every core member of the team has at least one feat in this issue and the story feels big. Peter David still finds room to throw in a couple jokes to lighten the mood and good character moments. Again, I’ll miss this series.

Tomb Raider 9 is ok. Continuing where the last issue left off, it takes place in Chernobyl where Lara Croft is protecting the sister of one of the people who died in the 2013 game. Some of the action is good and the flashbacks to Lara’s childhood do improve the book, but there’s nothing all that special here. This is my last issue and I wouldn’t really recommend it.

Red Lanterns 35 is good. I didn’t know going in, but this is part 5 of an event or crossover called Godhead. Even then, it’s still a good character study for Guy in the aftermath of his war with Atrocitus and it’s easy to follow. Not knowing anything about Godhead other than what this comic tells, I’m not really sure whether to recommend this or not.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comic releases October 22, 2014

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Logan Legacy was very good. I always love seeing Alpha Flight stuff showing up.

    Cyclops was good. But I still can’t commit to this book, for some reason.

    ASM was cool. I love Kamala. She’s awesome. Poor Mayday, though. I hope she pulls through Spider-Verse OK.

    She-Hulk was great. Soule’s doing great work with the law stuff, making it absolutely fascinating. And the story is really interesting. There’s also some nice humour.

    X-Force was really, really good. I loved it. Narration from Eva? Neat! Fantomex going crazy? Neat! Last-page save from Domino? Neat!

    AXM was an OK finale to an OK arc. At least Guardian got to be pretty badass, blasting out from inside Tanaraq.

    ANXF was good. Some fun stuff from PAD. Some acceptable art from CDG. Good issue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

