The Logan Legacy 6 review

4265325-06I skipped the last two issues of Logan Legacy at first; although I have since read Lady Deathstrike’s issue (Logan Legacy 4). The reasons why is that I don’t care much for Lady Deathstrike, and Daken is my least favourite Wolverine character by far. Mystique on the other hand can be a fascinating villain when written correctly, and has even been allied with the X-Men at times. While good material has been brought out of it, Mystique wasn’t always even a Wolverine character – she started out as an Avengers villain and only since Messiah Complex has she been turned more into a Wolverine villain.

James Tynion IV takes on the writing duties for today’s comic and of the Death of Wolverine aftermath issue’s I’ve read, this is the best in overall quality. It highlights every basic faucet of Raven Darkholme as a character. Her intelligence and fighting skills are on full display which makes for some fun moments. Her frustrating relationship with Wolverine is explored, and how he frequently put a stop to her ambitious plans. Her love for Destiny is a central part of the story as it should be. But what’s really interesting is that it not only foreshadows at least one sub-plot in the upcoming Wolverines series, but it hints that perhaps Mystique had a part to play in Wolverine’s death, even if indirectly. Considering how much she’s been portrayed to hate him in the last few years, it feels justified. Oh, and the comic makes great use of Destiny’s precognition abilities.

The art by Andy Clarke is great. The opening pages in a carnival are a bit of a unique opening, but it works for a hidden SHIELD base. Right away, the visual storytelling kicks in with the aftermath of a slaughter by Raven’s hands. The flashbacks to Madripoor showcase an impressive looking city. The set of panels where Mystique approaches a victim, changing shape and slowly approaching while retaining a similar grin is great. Her facial expressions perfectly display her anger after Wolverine ruins her efforts to take over the criminal haven in the 70’s, her focus while invading a SHIELD base and her sadness after she finds a message left for her from years ago.

Even though Mystique is clearly the villain in this comic, there are moments where it’s hard not to feel for her. That’s only a part of what makes this issue work so well. If you’re a fan of Mystique, this is pretty much a must have even if you don’t care much about Wolverine’s death. If you’re looking forward to Wolverines, this is also a must have.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Logan Legacy 6 review

  1. xmenxpert says:

    My one disappointment was that Mystique and Irene didn’t get to kiss. Still, it’s a really good comic that explores Mystique as a character, and shows that she does have ambitions beyond mere personal power. This follows what Bendis has been doing with her, and I’m curious to see where it goes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

