All New Hawkeye 1 review

4426838-01Before this review starts, know that I haven’t yet read any of Matt Fraction’s Hawkeye run. It started not long after I started reading comics, and back then I mostly focused on X-Men titles and a handful of DC books. Since then, I’ve heard nothing but good things about Fraction’s Hawkeye run. I do plan to read his run in trade, but I’m coming into this series with very little experience with the Hawkeyes and I don’t know how this compares to Fraction’s run.

First and foremost, this comic is fun and a great Marvel debut for writer Jeff Lemire. The main story is an issue-long action scene where Clint Barton and Kate Bishop invade a Hydra base. The action flows smooth, and the banter between them is often funny. It’s all interwoven with flashbacks to Clint and Barney Barton’s childhood, adding drama to an otherwise lighthearted read. These scenes mesh well together, often adding to each other’s dialogue the way they’re connected.

The art by Ramon Perez is good. It’s a simple look, but with a lot of little touches that add to the storytelling and humour. In one particular panel, a bunch of Hydra agents are caught off guard when the Hawkeyes jump out of a window. With multiple arrows flying in mid-air, a bunch of agents already pierced and others looking surprised, there’s one agent in the foreground eating a sandwich. The flashbacks, painted by Ian Herring, have a dreamlike quality mostly in purple, but drawn in red to emphasize moments of violence. Toward the end, their art starts meshing together to rather brilliant affect that helps tie both timelines together.

There’s a lot to like about this comic. It’s fun, the two art styles work well on their own and mesh brilliantly by the end, and most importantly, all three creators are Canadian … well, that’s important for us Canadians anyway. This is a great starting point for anyone who wants to check out either Hawkeye.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All New Hawkeye 1 review

  1. Pingback: healed1337

  2. Pingback: The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (02/26/15-03/04/15) | The Speech Bubble

  3. xmenxpert says:

    This was really, really good. Fraction’s Hawkeye has been excellent, so it was going to be a tough act to follow (especially since it hasn’t actually ended yet). But Lemire and Perez did a fantastic debut issue. The scenes set in the past has a really nice melancholic nostalgia, and the scenes in the present have a fun wit and excitement, and the timelines contrast really well. I have a feeling that, while this probably won’t win awards, it’s generally going to be seen as being as good as Fraction’s run.

    Like

  4. hortah01 says:

    Nice review! I really enjoyed the issue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

