Comics of April Fools Day, 2015

This is my first ever April 1st new comic day, and I’m a bit disappointed by the lack of April Fools jokes in what I read. Sure, Wolverines 13 is one in a sense, but all the rest are just normal comics. That said, this is a good week for the most part.

I have no April Fools Day jokes of my own, so instead I’ll update you on my Marvel Cinematic Universe Marathon. yesterday I re watched Guardians of the Galaxy, and and I’m still having trouble figuring out whether I like that or Captain America: Winter Solider better. Yesterday’s episode of Agents of Shield is pretty hardcore, with the two SHIELD factions facing off against each other while Skye starts to learn about her powers and intentionally unleashes them for the first time, with destructive results. On the writing front, I’m probably going to write a few short stories this month in preparation for my next book, which will be my most ambitious novel yet. In the mean time, I plan to start reading my next novel either tomorrow or Friday.

Also, Josh and I are hosting a live celebration for 400 subscribers to our YouTube Channel this Friday at 8:00 pm Eastern Time (Toronto/New York). The channel is about video games, but anyone’s welcome to join in, ask us some questions on live chat and enter in for some giveaways (there may be a few comic giveaways). All you have to do is become a subscriber if you aren’t already.

The comics I picked up include Spider-Gwen 3, Rocket Raccoon 10, Cyclops 12, Wolverines 13, Amazing Spider-Man 17, Gotham Academy: Endgame and IXth Generation 3. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Cyclops 12 review

Wolverines 13 review

IXth Generation 3 review

Spider-Gwen 3 is good. Most of this issue is a conversation between Gwen Stacey and her father, which is interrupted by the Vulture, followed by Frank Castle and the cops. The action is good and the drama works, but at this point, it’s almost impossible for Gwen to keep her secret identity going. It’s also not as fun as the first two issues. If you enjoyed the first two Spider-Gwen issues you’ll probably like this one, but with each issue less enjoyable than the last, I’m starting to wonder if this series has lasting potential.

Rocket Raccoon 10 is great. Rocket starts searching for a mysterious book while evading authorities. By this point, Scottie Young has established this as a very entertaining comedy series and this issue is no exception. It’s hard to talk about this series beyond that because every issue has the same strengths and I’d just sound like a broken record. If a comedy series starring Rocket and Groot interests you, just pick this up.

Amazing Spider-Man 17 is alright. The whole dispute between Peter Parker and some of his workers is starting to drag. Honestly, I’m finding it hard to care about even typing this paragraph and I’m starting to lose interest in where the current Amazing Spider-Man series is going. With Ultimate Spider-man confirmed to be sticking around after Secret Wars, I’m starting to wonder if the Renew your Vows Peter Parker is sticking around and retiring from Spider-Man work so that Miles Morales can take over, and that doesn’t sound like a bad idea at this point.

Gotham Academy: Endgame is fun. During the whole Endgame storyline, some of the Academy kids are telling spooky Joker-related stories while the headmaster is protecting the Academy from those infected by the Joker’s virus. Gotham Academy fans should pick this up, and GA: Endgame is worth checking out if you’re reading Batman: Endgame.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics, movies, tv show, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of April Fools Day, 2015

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Spider-Gwen was pretty good.

    Rocket Raccoon was fun, as always. I’m interested in seeing where the Halfworld stuff goes.

    Cyclops was a weak comic, a weak installment in Black Vortex, and a horrible series finale.

    Wolverines was good, but was another filler issue.

    Amazing Spider-Man was OK. But I really think it’s time Slott wrapped up his run and left the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

