Thor 7 review

THOR2014007-DC11-2dcf8It’s been a while since I’ve reviewed this series, so let’s get to it. The last couple of issues are mostly about Odinson while he tries to figure out exactly who Female Thor is. Meanwhile, Odin allies himself with the most questionable of figures, Cul. The last issue ended with Thor taking on one of Roxxon’s buildings, only for the Destroyer to arrive.

This is mostly an action issue, and a great one at that. Thor and the Destroyer trade blows in the way that only Asgardian powerhouses can, while making great use of Female Thor’s unique talents with the hammer. Although most of this issue is action, there’s plenty of story development involving all plot threads. Odinson’s search is touched on, along with his mother’s mutual distrust of Odin’s actions. The alliance between Roxxon and Malekith is expanded on, and Malekith is delightfully evil here. If only Thor: The Dark World’s Malekith was more enthusiastic like this – it would have been a much better movie. As for the mystery behind Thor, it’s almost confirmed. Next issue promises to tell us for sure exactly who Thor is, but at this point most people probably have the same guess.

The art by Russell Dauterman is fantastic. The fight scene is complete with all sorts of debris, good use of motion blurs, thunder effects and Thor being progressively more bloodied as the fight drags on. Some panels almost look straight out of a movie. As Malekith and Dario (CEO of Roxxon) talk, Malekith shows a detailed diagram of the nine realms in what might be the best panel of the comic … save for the very next page where they attack Alfheim, complete with plenty of colourful fighters and a map of the realm for the background. This is some of the best art I’ve seen so far this year.

Jason Aaron’s Thor run continues to be nothing short of fantastic. The story is good, the mystery of Thor’s identity is fun even if not subtle anymore, and the action is just awesome. This is my favourite comic of the week, and any Thor fan who hasn’t give this run a chance yet (and that goes for Thor: God of Thunder) really should.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thor 7 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of April 15, 2015 | healed1337

  2. Pingback: The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (04/09/15-04/15/15) | The Speech Bubble

  3. hortah01 says:

    O man, I agree with everything you say in this review. I also reviewed this issue on my blog, and j couldnt get over the art in it. Fantastic! Also the color job by Wilson is amazing. I dont think it can be overstated how fantstic is it. Overall a great issue.

    Like

  4. xmenxpert says:

    It’s a good issue, and it’s basically confirmed that Roz Solomon is Thor. At this point, if it’s not her, I’ll be straight-up pissed off. But the fight is awesome. Thor shows why she’s worthy of the name and the hammer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

