Vampirella 12 review

VampiVol2-12-Cov-A-Mayhew-4c4eeIn Vampirella 6, the title character inherited the throne of the Nosferatu by killing Draco in sanctioned mortal combat. Although her position has been referenced here and there, the politics behind ruling a race of vampires haven’t been explored until today’s issue. In Vampirella’s own words, “it’s like Downtown Abbey meets Game of Thrones” … just with bloodsucking monsters.

After the threat of a manufactured plague threatening the entire world, it’s time to take things slow for one issue and build on several plot threads. Vampirella deals with a nosferatu who’s using disturbing methods for his blood farm, holds a court session and deals with the pressures of leadership. Most of this is setup and there isn’t any action, but it’s well-written and filled with interesting mythology. The cliffhanger promises that the next issue will get intense.

Patrick Berkenkotter’s art is good. For the most part the colours are dark, but that’s fitting for a horror comic and it’s always easy to see what’s going on. The opening montage visually tells the story of how the nosferatu gathers victims for his blood farm. The environmental consistently good throughout, showing menus posted outside of restaurants, old buildings in disrepair outside of Vampirella’s castle and the décor within. It’s hard to tell some of the nosferatu apart (I’m not even sure who shows up on the last page), but their varied old-fashioned outfits help.

This isn’t the most exciting Vampirella issue by any means, but it’s still good. Nancy A. Collins brings a great mix of mythology and real world history to keep this downtime issue interesting, while also building tensions that will surely come into play next issue. This is a good horror series so far and if that interests you, check this series out. Everything’s written in a way that makes it easy for new readers to understand, making this a great jumping on point.

Normally I don’t do review scores, but someone recently commented on my about page that I should give them a shot.

7/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vampirella 12 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of May 20, 2015 | healed1337

Leave a Reply

