Old Man Logan 1 review

OMLSW2015001-DC51-44aadMan this alt is awesome.

Before I begin this review, know that I’ve never read the original Old Man Logan story. I’ve heard some good things about it, and also some bad, and maybe I’ll read it one day, but Joe Kelly’s Deadpool run and re-reading some of my paperbacks I’ve only read once is higher on my priority list.

Old Man Logan 1, written by Brian Michael Bendis, takes place in a Battleworld territory where many superheroes have died. The world has pretty much become a wasteland full of crime bosses and ruins. This is a brutal comic, with plenty of blood, guts and dark storytelling. Despite all of this, Logan seems like a nicer person than his main universe counterpart, trying to show respect and wisdom to the innocent while making it his duty to take out anyone who actively harms them. His old age has mellowed his general attitude, but not his determination or ferocity in a fight.

For a $5 comic, you’re getting 31 pages of story content. It’s complete with a great action scene, a lot of cameos from either superheroes or their legacies, and a great introduction to the world. The dialogue is well-written and captures both the characters’ personalities and the western-like setting. A mystery involving a deactivated Ultron head is setup, and can lead in all sorts of different directions. The ending sends Logan on a journey to other territories, a move that we’ve already seen is risky in more ways than one.

The art by Andrea Sorrentino is the real highlight. He makes great use of backgrounds, showcasing the wastelands with beautiful landscapes. The colouring always matches the mood of each scene, whether it’s the orange tint while Logan journeys through the desert, the green tint when he’s speaking with old friends or the red hue when he’s fighting. The action scene is complete with blood gushing, dismemberment and Logan’s messy claws. Every page has something visual to offer. Sometimes it’s a great layout to emphasize the fight scene’s intensity, and sometimes it’s a visual Easter egg that adds to the storytelling.

My first impression is that at least in some ways, I prefer this Logan over his main counterpart. If he remains when the new Universe begins and passes the Wolverine mantle on, I’d be perfectly OK with that. While I haven’t decided to stick with this series yet, I’ll at least pick up the second issue. I can’t compare this to the original having not read it, but if an older Logan fighting to protect innocents in a wasteland of crime interests you, at least give this a read.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Man Logan 1 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of May 27, 2015 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    The original Old Man Logan was an instant classic, one of the great Wolverine stories. This follow-up is good, too. Good writing. And beautiful art. Sorrentino is one of Marvel’s top talents.

    Like

Leave a Reply

